Thread: R12 pressures?

Hi, I've got an old coke machine that isn't cooling well. Cleaned lint and dust off coils, etc. and still only getting down to about 46*f in the box. I've never worked with r12 before. What sort of pressures should I expect?
    My only experience is with r22 in water-source heatpumps. I just don't know what to expect for start-up and running pressures.

It's a cool old machine, the kind you could pop the top off a bottle at the gas station or fire station and fill a cup up without paying while the bottle is still in the machine if you were an idiot kid like I was I'll use it for my home brew savings account, you know... charge myself to drink my own beer so I don't have to get into the rainy-day money for the next batch of hops and grain.

Also, I haven't put my guages on it yet, will a nitrogen purge clean them up okay to go back to r-22?

Appreciate the help here.

Does it have service access?

Check the RLA to the name plate?

They would hold 1 to 2 lbs of gas, the old ones.

Are you sure it is low on gas, and not cycleing off on t-stat?
    Refrigeration...Finding the Wright Wrench to pound in the correct..Screw

What does your PT chart tell you?

It's still on every single PT chart that I've ever seen......

CondenseDave: Silly me. I can look at my guages without ever putting them on for the PT, doh! Thanks.

Cracker; yip I can get to it. Haven't put a mmeter on it yet. t-stat sensor could be dislodged or defective? The bottle I tested in it wasn't cold. Fluke says 46* in the box and T-stat is set at 36*f

I think the people that had it before left it on the porch all winter.

On one hand, it is a cool machine and I want it to live. On the other, I've never dealt with a 'fridge' before.

I really appreciate your guys's help here. I want to be a better tech. Thank you for teaching me.

Check all the seals , that there is no heat entering from unwanted places . check coils , put a set of gauges on.