Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 39
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NE wisconsin
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by terpfan_ View Post
    never understood why all transformer don't come with built-in breaker.
    Then the transformer manufacturer wouldn't sell any transformers

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    in a house, Appomattox, Va.
    Posts
    3,191
    I like the multi fuse idea to narrow down cause.
    Col 3:23


    questions asked, answers received, ignorance abated

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    225
    I ran into something similar a few weeks ago, went through 3 transformers before i finally wised up and asked a senior tech.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,083
    If I am blowing transformers I just don't put another one on until I find out whats making my VA to high. Chances are its cause someone took a 75VA off and replaced it with a 50VA.
    If you're too "open" minded, your brains will fall out.
    Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    East tx
    Posts
    154
    I always carry a transformer with a built in circuit breaker when i come across a bad transformer... I use it as a troubleshoot aid

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    37
    Just check your wires for a short

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    44
    Is it blowing on the primary or secondary side?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,296
    Get some fuses and get your post count up
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    It was working when I left...
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by jledford382 View Post
    Is it blowing on the primary or secondary side?
    Blowing the primary.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    DFW,TX
    Posts
    2,160
    use a resettable in line fuse until you find the issue and make sure you check anything and everything related to the low volt system, sounds like a bare 24 v wire that is rubbing on metal or another bare wire next to it that goes common..Ive found many outside in the condenser cabinet especially on heat pumps where the wires have been tied to copper pipes eventually rubbing through.. keep looking and you should find it , id say look at running new aire from stat to AH as its happening in heat and cool or its in the Tstat itself..

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,210
    You have a direct short. Ohm out all wires and isolate.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    44
    Yep sounds like a direct short as already stated. I had the same problem a few months back. I put a Lil' Popper in and blew probably 12 fuses before I found it. It was an older house with terrible wiring. When I finally found the problem, someone had spliced wires about 15 feet from the panel and just taped it up with electrical tape. I assume they didn't have enough wire to finish the run, but that didn't make me any less upset. The house could've very easily burnt to the ground.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Union Nj
    Posts
    23
    I had this issue, in ny a rat chewed on the tstat wire and shorted every time. Just need to ohm wires.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event