Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43

    Confused PCT TCP/IP Problem

    Does anybody know the fix for this??? It happens to be about every 6 months and the only way I can seem to get it resolved is re-installing SQL Sever, Im on site however and this is not going to be possible. There has to be another way.. Does anybody have any insight on this? Just so you dont have to ask, yes my firewall is off and and SQL Server is running.



    The TCP/IP connection to the host localhost, port 1433 has failed. Error: Connection timed out: connect. Please verify the connection properties and check that a SQL Server instance is running on the host and accepting TCP/IP connections at the port, and that no firewall is blocking TCP connections to the port.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314
    Have you tried restarting SQL server? Do you have anything in your start menu called sql server configuration?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43
    I have restarted SQL Server a few times... Yes I have been playing around with the configuration manager, messing around with TCP/IP protocol... Im not finding anything that is jumping out at me. I have multiple ip addresses in my TCP/IP properties and I have been trying to enable and disable them and restarting SQL Server and changing the TCP port back and forth to try and get it to come back into it but to no avail... Frustration is creeping up on me..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314
    Can you ping your local host? Open a cmd promt. type ping 127.0.0.1 did it return data or time out? If you can ping it then
    try this. In your sql manager go to sql server 200X configuration > protocol for (mine says MNTTOOL)> then click TCP/IP and then IP addresses. make sure you dynamic ports are set to 1433 manually. Make sure your IP address is 127.0.0.1.

    Then restart sql server service.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43
    I can ping my local host.
    Yeah I have been trying to play with that, just enabling, disabling, changing the ports restarting, changing them back restarting, ect... As of right now all the ip addresses have have the dynamic ports blank and the TCP Ports at 1433 which from reading the help I believe is the way it needs to be set up for a static port...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314
    If your server runs on the default port 1433 be sure to put manually all the TCP Dynamic Ports to 1433 and also the IP1 & IP2 to be set as Enable

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43
    I have like 9 ip's.. They are all enabled. I tried switching from TCP port to TCP Dynamic Port with 1433 and restarting but that didnt work either...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43
    Sorry they are all active but not enabled... The help menu says that the "enabled" is a status for that IP

  9. #9
    Hello:

    I dont know if I can help you, but there is a program called cports (currentpors) that it show you what app is using the ports. Can another app use your port?

    Sorry if i dont understand your question.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314
    Did you ever get this resolved so you don't have to reinstal SQL? I know some SQL folks I could ask if you are still working with the issue.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43
    Yeah I'm still working on it... I just re-installed SQL Server and I'm still having an issue... My next step is to re-install PCT but unfortunately my office doesn't seem to have the software on our server and the hard copies are in another state... I'm trying to contact another office of ours to see if they can send me something... I wish I could find the root of the issue though... I'm surprised this doesn't happen to anybody else seeing how it happens to me once or twice a year..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    43
    now Im completely out of ideas... re-installed SQL and PCT and it still doesn't work... I have CCT on my virtual machine and that works fine... I compared settings and they are exactly the same... Now what??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    423
    Disable Windows Automatic Updates. They sent one out a while back that totally screwed my PC. I had the same problem as you. Luckily, the motherboard failed on it and I had to get a new PC. Try contacting your dealer.....My supervisor also had the same problem, and our JCI dealer was able to walk him through a fix.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event