Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    1,633
    Maybe time for new meter, little craftsmen ohms says on about 6.5-7.5,WHY? I know its time for a update but why the ohms stays on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Emerald Coast
    Posts
    936
    Is this a digital meter?

    Got a new battery to try?

    Digital meters can sometimes start giving you funky numbers on volts or ohms scales when the batteries are packing up.

    Otherwise might start searching for a replacement.

    Dave
    Do not attempt vast projects with
    half vast experience and ideas.
    ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Hampstead/NH
    Posts
    178
    My fluke would give a reading, something like 12k ohms, with out the probes touching each other or anything else. It was caused by moisture inside it from working in walkin freezers and the meter sweating when I came out. If that is the case, you can try taking the case of it apart and letting it dry out for a few days. Tim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    1,633
    thanks guys tried new batteriers, forgot about the moisture thing, thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Time to upgrade to a professional quality meter IMO.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Crafstmen are good for beater meters, nice and cheap.
    Who wants to break out the good stuff if you don't have to?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    My "beater meter" is still a Fluke!

    I don't believe in cheepo meters.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,247
    Originally posted by hvaclover

    Who wants to break out the good stuff if you don't have to?
    I do because my life depends on it.

    I take no chances when it comes to electrical meters, too much at stake.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Originally posted by davidr
    Originally posted by hvaclover

    Who wants to break out the good stuff if you don't have to?
    I do because my life depends on it.

    I take no chances when it comes to electrical meters, too much at stake.
    I'll second that.

    Why buy a meter made by an unknown company, labeled as "Craftsman". Even their "pro" tools are made for Harry Homeowner.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    My "beater" is a Fluke 336.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event