Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 37 of 37
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,292
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    I hear ya. "It's been that way for years. There is nothing wrong with it. You lie, get out my house"
    Yeah, makes you wonder why they called you to begin with...

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    The way the IAQ works is it has 3 wires going to the thermostat from the EIM (interface module mounted near the furnace). The EIM is then wired to the furnace as most thermostats would be. It's a great thermostat and can be set up to control dehumidification in the summer. I agree with the suggestion to look into having one installed.
    Thanks for the info. I just remembered that the thermostat for our downstairs system is a Honeywell visionpro IAQ. Our downstairs system is a dual fuel system and has a single stage furnace (which is a Lennox G40).

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,095
    Quote Originally Posted by 545GAlady View Post
    Is it true that it does not need a w2 wire? I thought that all thermostats compatible with 2 stage heat must use a w2 wire to control 2nd stage.
    The IAQ uses an interface module, known as an EIM. The EIM is mountd at teh furnace, and the furnace wires connect to it, including a W2 wire. Only 3 wires are used to connect to the thermostat on the wall.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,710
    Quote Originally Posted by 545GAlady View Post
    Is it true that it does not need a w2 wire? I thought that all thermostats compatible with 2 stage heat must use a w2 wire to control 2nd stage.
    the answer to your question is yes, but....

    IF your thermostat has a W2 then it is best to use it in most cases.

    IF your thermostat does not have a W2, most furnaces can control the second stage by the board in it.

    IF you use a more advanced thermostat, like the IAQ or others, the portion the home owner interacts with needs only 2 to 4 wires. HOWEVER, there is a remote module that has all the necessary terminals and it usually gets mounted near the furnace.
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    The IAQ uses an interface module, known as an EIM. The EIM is mountd at teh furnace, and the furnace wires connect to it, including a W2 wire. Only 3 wires are used to connect to the thermostat on the wall.
    Thanks. I can completely understand now. So the W2 wire will run from the furnace to the EIM. It will be a lot easier for the tech to install a Honeywell IAQ thermostat instead of having him run a whole new wire to the current thermostat from the furnace.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by pacnw View Post
    the answer to your question is yes, but....

    IF your thermostat has a W2 then it is best to use it in most cases.

    IF your thermostat does not have a W2, most furnaces can control the second stage by the board in it.

    IF you use a more advanced thermostat, like the IAQ or others, the portion the home owner interacts with needs only 2 to 4 wires. HOWEVER, there is a remote module that has all the necessary terminals and it usually gets mounted near the furnace.
    Thanks very much. I appreciate the info. I'll look into the possibility of having an IAQ installed.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    One last quick question... What's your opinion on the Prestige IAQ Thermostat? I'm trying to decide between the Vision Pro IAQ and the Prestige IAQ.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,292
    Here's another thread that may help:

    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread....Vision-Pro-IAQ

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    That thread was very helpful. Thanks! I will be going with the Prestige 2.0 IAQ over the Vision Pro IAQ. I like how the Prestige 2.0 can connect to the Internet which means I can adjust the temperature on my iphone as well as on the computer. This is something that the Vision Pro IAQ does not have. Thanks again! I appreciate it!

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    6
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 11-29-2012 at 05:43 PM. Reason: Non Pro * Member

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,095
    CHAINIK, , this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Your post has been deleted.
    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event