Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32

    Continuing Issue loses Fron won't heat/cool

    Hey everyone, kind of a continuing issue for years and you all hit the nail on the head way back when so didn't want to continue the thread from here:

    Code:
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?615852-HELP!-AC-just-keeps-running&highlight=Bowling+Green
    Anyhow, as you all recomended, changed repair guys and he found the freon leak; one leak.

    Its still losing the charge, or not charged properly and when the charge is not correct it don't heat/cool as well. The repair guy was back mid-week and he put another charge on the unit and said must be more then one leak so he's coming back sometime this weekend to find the leak.

    More then one, is more then one leak possible?

    Second, it's a duel system and uses electric to heat most of the time unless the temp outside is below a set temp on the unit outside which is around 38 degree's then it kicks over and uses gas. When its using electric it don't heat as well, temps coming out of the vents are about 81 degree's on electric and 105 with gas??? Is this the way it should work or should it not be warmer with electric?

    Thanks guys

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,347
    First off yes, it is very likely you have multiple leaks. Second, if you have electric/gas heat your refrigerant leak will not effect heat mode. As for the 81 degree supply temp during electric mode, that sounds a little low. You may not have all heat strips working. Have you had a service man test them? 105 degree supply in gas mode sounds about right. Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    First off yes, it is very likely you have multiple leaks. Second, if you have electric/gas heat your refrigerant leak will not effect heat mode. As for the 81 degree supply temp during electric mode, that sounds a little low. You may not have all heat strips working. Have you had a service man test them? 105 degree supply in gas mode sounds about right. Good luck.
    Yep, it effects heat mode
    Not contradicting you don't get me wrong, I too thought Freon was for cooling, but when he gets the charge on the unit it heats fine?

    Give it a week later and the heat slowly starts to get cooler till it just won't heat period.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,347
    Then you have a heat pump. Not just electric/ gas heat. Yes freon level matters.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    Then you have a heat pump. Not just electric/ gas heat. Yes freon level matters.
    Correct

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,347
    If it leaks down in a week, then the leak should be easy to locate.

  7. #7
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 11-10-2012 at 07:33 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    If it leaks down in a week, then the leak should be easy to locate.
    The first leak was, at least for the new service man but the last service guy we'll see the other thread. Man he took us over the coals.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Over Here
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    If it leaks down in a week, then the leak should be easy to locate.
    My typical response to these types of long distance diagnosis like phone or internet... The leak is either in one, or a combination of three locations in your system: The indoor coil, the outdoor heat pump unit, or the inter-connecting copper refrigeration lines.

    A good technician will be able to determine where the leak(s) is/are with proper diagnostics. The company who he represents also plays a role the quality and accuracy of your repair.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by thermojohn View Post
    My typical response to these types of long distance diagnosis like phone or internet... The leak is either in one, or a combination of three locations in your system: The indoor coil, the outdoor heat pump unit, or the inter-connecting copper refrigeration lines.

    A good technician will be able to determine where the leak(s) is/are with proper diagnostics. The company who he represents also plays a role the quality and accuracy of your repair.
    Ok here's a question.
    We've done paid $$$ for fixing the first leak which was outside, inside the heat pump (Think thats what its called right? The box with the fan and the compressor?) and we thought that solved the problem.

    So, again to fix this he's going to have to find where they are, drain the Freon like last time and replace. Should we be charged again?
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 11-10-2012 at 07:37 AM. Reason: Pricing

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,667
    ASM401406

    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,667

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,347
    Cannot discuss prices on here. If leak is inside, refrigerant should be able to pump down into outside unit. In other words, should not have to recover again.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event