Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32

    Continuing Issue loses Fron won't heat/cool

    Hey everyone, kind of a continuing issue for years and you all hit the nail on the head way back when so didn't want to continue the thread from here:

    Code:
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?615852-HELP!-AC-just-keeps-running&highlight=Bowling+Green
    Anyhow, as you all recomended, changed repair guys and he found the freon leak; one leak.

    Its still losing the charge, or not charged properly and when the charge is not correct it don't heat/cool as well. The repair guy was back mid-week and he put another charge on the unit and said must be more then one leak so he's coming back sometime this weekend to find the leak.

    More then one, is more then one leak possible?

    Second, it's a duel system and uses electric to heat most of the time unless the temp outside is below a set temp on the unit outside which is around 38 degree's then it kicks over and uses gas. When its using electric it don't heat as well, temps coming out of the vents are about 81 degree's on electric and 105 with gas??? Is this the way it should work or should it not be warmer with electric?

    Thanks guys

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,401
    First off yes, it is very likely you have multiple leaks. Second, if you have electric/gas heat your refrigerant leak will not effect heat mode. As for the 81 degree supply temp during electric mode, that sounds a little low. You may not have all heat strips working. Have you had a service man test them? 105 degree supply in gas mode sounds about right. Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    First off yes, it is very likely you have multiple leaks. Second, if you have electric/gas heat your refrigerant leak will not effect heat mode. As for the 81 degree supply temp during electric mode, that sounds a little low. You may not have all heat strips working. Have you had a service man test them? 105 degree supply in gas mode sounds about right. Good luck.
    Yep, it effects heat mode
    Not contradicting you don't get me wrong, I too thought Freon was for cooling, but when he gets the charge on the unit it heats fine?

    Give it a week later and the heat slowly starts to get cooler till it just won't heat period.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    And also, now that I think of it here's another question and keep in mind weve had this unit ohhhh 10 years now I think

    If you turn the thermostat up more then 1 degree should it go into "AUX MODE"

    And if in AUX MODE is it using gas or still electric no matter what the temp?

    Reason I ask this is because the other night when the service man was here; he told me to turn it up so he could put a charge on it. I had the unit on emergency heat so it would use gas so when we took it out of emergency heat and just set on "heat" so it would work like normal, it was 73 in the house so I turned it up to 77 so it would stay on long enough while he worked and put a charge on the unit. Thats when it went into AUX mode and I'VE NEVER SEEN THAT BEFORE???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,401
    Then you have a heat pump. Not just electric/ gas heat. Yes freon level matters.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    Then you have a heat pump. Not just electric/ gas heat. Yes freon level matters.
    Correct

  7. #7
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 11-10-2012 at 08:33 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,401
    If it leaks down in a week, then the leak should be easy to locate.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    If it leaks down in a week, then the leak should be easy to locate.
    The first leak was, at least for the new service man but the last service guy we'll see the other thread. Man he took us over the coals.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Over Here
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    If it leaks down in a week, then the leak should be easy to locate.
    My typical response to these types of long distance diagnosis like phone or internet... The leak is either in one, or a combination of three locations in your system: The indoor coil, the outdoor heat pump unit, or the inter-connecting copper refrigeration lines.

    A good technician will be able to determine where the leak(s) is/are with proper diagnostics. The company who he represents also plays a role the quality and accuracy of your repair.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by thermojohn View Post
    My typical response to these types of long distance diagnosis like phone or internet... The leak is either in one, or a combination of three locations in your system: The indoor coil, the outdoor heat pump unit, or the inter-connecting copper refrigeration lines.

    A good technician will be able to determine where the leak(s) is/are with proper diagnostics. The company who he represents also plays a role the quality and accuracy of your repair.
    Ok here's a question.
    We've done paid $$$ for fixing the first leak which was outside, inside the heat pump (Think thats what its called right? The box with the fan and the compressor?) and we thought that solved the problem.

    So, again to fix this he's going to have to find where they are, drain the Freon like last time and replace. Should we be charged again?
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 11-10-2012 at 08:37 AM. Reason: Pricing

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,957

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Over Here
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by kirk1701™ View Post
    Ok here's a question.
    We've done paid XXXX for fixing the first leak which was outside, inside the heat pump (Think thats what its called right? The box with the fan and the compressor?) and we thought that solved the problem.

    So, again to fix this he's going to have to find where they are, drain the Freon like last time and replace. Should we be charged again?
    First, pricing is frowned upon here, so it'll be edited out by a moderator.

    What you paid for the repair to include a trip charge, repair, and refrigerant (as expensive as it is) is not really out of line - even though it still is a lot of dough for today's consumer. The problem is that it didn't solve the problem. How long ago was the last repair?

    Like I said earlier, a good tech, and the company behind him are your best advocates when it come to finding, and solving your system's problem. It is his job to protect your interests, as well as his company's.

    We also get raked over the coals when our techs "fix" a unit, and the homeowner complains that the recent repair he paid for did not solve his problem, as the problem is still the "same".

    Our company's policy on things like this is to send a seasoned tech to do a follow-up call at no diagnostic charge to determine the problem. If another leak is found, it will be dealt with as another repair that should have been determined on the first call, and the price to repair it will be given as it would have been repaired the first repair visit.

    If the initial repair is still leaking, then that is a call-back, and it will be repaired at no charge, and plenty of apologies will be given for the inconvenience.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event