Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 118
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by George2 View Post
    Very observate. I'm proud of you. However, the dampers are already there regardless of how they are zoned. The only reason for more damper is if you add more supplies.

    But a 8" run is equal to 2-6" runs so that is one way to reduce the damper costs. It just depends on how the room is laid out.
    Thanks. Will several dampers be needed for the runs from the plenum?

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,599
    Do you ever leave your computer? You respond faster than anyone I know.

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    No. I just got on here because I've been gone for several hours. I'm not always on the computer, especially week days because I'm a substitute teacher.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,599
    Quote Originally Posted by 545GAlady View Post
    Thanks. Will several dampers be need for the runs from the plenum?
    I'm not sure that I understand your question. Every supply will need to have a damper IF you want to control the airflow for that supply run.

    I do have a supply in my house that I let blow "wild". In other words, it is never restricted and that was designed that way on purpose.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Oh sorry. I kinda get it. So does that mean that if having the basement zoned off from the first floor system will only require very few dampers like for example 2 dampers (one for the basement, one for the first floor)? I don't know much about zoning. I'm still trying to learn about it and I'm still confused.

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,599
    Quote Originally Posted by 545GAlady View Post
    Oh sorry. So does that mean that if having the basement zoned off from the first floor system will only require very few dampers like for example 2 dampers (one for the basement, one for the first floor)? I don't know much about zoning. I'm still trying to learn about it and I'm confused.
    Okay, sorry, it seems elementary to me. Here is how it goes (generally), there are exceptions, of course:

    If you had 12 existing (supply) registers on the first floor and installed 8 new (suppl)registers for the basement, then you are going to have a total of 20 dampers.

    Now, once the dampers are in place, you may, depending on the layout of the home, have 4 zones without adding dampers. Understand better?

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,599
    Quote Originally Posted by 545GAlady View Post
    Oh sorry. I kinda get it. So does that mean that if having the basement zoned off from the first floor system will only require very few dampers like for example 2 dampers (one for the basement, one for the first floor)? I don't know much about zoning. I'm still trying to learn about it and I'm still confused.
    You're confused? That's understandable. Call around to different HVAC guys and you won't feel alone.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by George2 View Post
    Okay, sorry, it seems elementary to me. Here is how it goes (generally), there are exceptions, of course:

    If you had 12 existing (supply) registers on the first floor and installed 8 new (suppl)registers for the basement, then you are going to have a total of 20 dampers.

    Now, once the dampers are in place, you may, depending on the layout of the home, have 4 zones without adding dampers. Understand better?
    Thanks for the information. I understand a whole lot better. So we have 6 supply runs coming out of the first floor system and 5 supply runs coming out of the basement system. This means that 11 dampers will have to be installed.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,599
    I need to read and then take my (beauty) nap. I'll respond to your posts a little later. Don't worry.

    You are fun to "talk" to. I have always appreciated people that want to learn and are open to new ideas.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    That's fine. Right now I don't have anything else to say, but that could change.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Arnold mo
    Posts
    3,932
    Not to intrude here, but have you considered how much air leakage you have at your rim joists? This is a major source of air leakage. That drop ceiling is not going to stop it either. The best first step regarding comfort & energy use in a home is to find out if your home has excessive air leakage and perhaps insulation issues, resolve those issues first, and then move on to equipment concerns.
    An answer without a question is meaningless.
    Information without understanding is useless.
    You can lead a horse to water............
    http://www.mohomeenergyaudits.com

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    tipsrfine thanks. I can see how that should be checked first. We have had our insulation inspected last summer.

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Arnold mo
    Posts
    3,932
    Did you have your homes air leakage tested, with a blower door test?
    An answer without a question is meaningless.
    Information without understanding is useless.
    You can lead a horse to water............
    http://www.mohomeenergyaudits.com

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event