Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 31
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,222
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Invaluable information, thanks, hear of this one time only but the other tech never found the issue that I know of.
    you do mean valuable?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,888
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    you do mean valuable?
    "invaluable
    in·val·u·a·ble
    adjective beyond calculable or appraisable value; of inestimable worth; priceless"

    Valuable/invaluable - the same
    Flammable/inflammable - the same
    English is weird.
    Last edited by kdean1; 11-09-2012 at 09:52 PM. Reason: clarifying

  3. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Lol I guess what I meant was invaluable as in so useful you can't put a price on it, seems like I heard that expression somewhere but maybe I got it wrong. So yes unmeasurable value.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,222
    thank you kdean and joe.

    the English language is pretty jacked up.

    to, too, two, there, their, they're.....etc

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,484
    Never would have crossed my mind. How many furnaces have this "restrictor plate"?

    This site is unvaluably inmeasurable.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post
    Never would have crossed my mind. How many furnaces have this "restrictor plate"?

    This site is unvaluably inmeasurable.
    Lol

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,485
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post
    Never would have crossed my mind. How many furnaces have this "restrictor plate"?

    This site is unvaluably inmeasurable.
    Every nordyne furnace has one since they all use the same inducer (within a model series). A 60k btu will have a restrictor with a small hole, while a 120k will have one with a big hole.

    The faulty restrictors seem to be on models made in the early to mid 2000s. They were made from an opaque plastic that flakes away. The problem is most pronounced on units where the filter was not changed often enough.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,484
    Quote Originally Posted by craig1 View Post
    Every furnace has one since they all use the same inducer. A 60k btu will have a restrictor with a small hole, while a 120k will have one with a big hole.

    The faulty restrictors seem to be on models made in the early to mid 2000s. They were made from an opaque plastic that flakes away. The problem is most pronounced on units where the filter was not changed often enough.
    And the restrictor is part of the inducer assembly which, if changed, will remedy the issue?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,699
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post
    And the restrictor is part of the inducer assembly which, if changed, will remedy the issue?
    No the inducer orifice is separate, and snaps into the opening in the Front Header Box. Then the inducer assembly is installed over it.

    As Crag1 said, same inducer, you just use a different orifice to control the airflow.

    See attachment (sorry, picture is a little fuzzy).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,484
    Got it. Picture is fine.

    Most instructive as always, Rundawg.

    Thanks all for this thread - had no clue.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    367
    so is Inducer Orifice in blower or Header Box?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    On the g26 you buy an inducer and it comes with multiple restrictor plates and based on BTU the correct color plate gets installed in the inducer, I'm sure some have them in condensate box as well?

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,699
    Quote Originally Posted by iowa tech View Post
    so is Inducer Orifice in blower or Header Box?
    It does snap into the Inducer Motor Assembly, and not the header box on this particular unit.

    I stated it wrong on my previous post. What I was trying to say is the Orifice is between the inducer and header box.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event