Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    29

    Having a one do-all-meter or not.

    I don't want to start yet another thread about Fluke vs. Filedpiece. I was wondering what you guys thought about what you think is better. Having an all-in-one meter,or having separate clamp meter,multimeter,and temp meter?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    403
    I have a UEI Phoenix that I love. Will do all three but I just use it mainly for clamp and multimeter. That's all I use 95% of the time.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    49
    I have fluke multimeter, fieldpiece amp clamp and UEI Phoenix clamp too, carry all three..overkill...no way use them all everyday! If i could have the new Flir meters that'd be great but too spendy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Current whereabouts unknown
    Posts
    640
    i have an fieldpiece that i use for everything. carry meter, amp clamp head and temp clamp in the meter case and have not gone back to the truck for the other meter in over a year.
    It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll,
    I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.

    -- William Ernest Henley

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,748
    I use a fieldpiece hs36 with amp clamp head and pipe clamp thermocouple 90% of the time. Every now and then I use my fluke 902 or uei dl379 just because I feel bad that I have them and never use them.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    16
    I have fieldpiece hs36 . Great tool . I have 2 actually .
    Rick

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    1,626
    I have a Fluke combo kit with a 116 multimeter and 323 clamp on. I hardly ever use leads on the clamp on as the 116 has the magnet hanger which I love. I keep temp probes in the bag but I mainly use a Cooper temp instrument for service.
    I have a Fluke 322 and 902 as backup, both have been retired from frontline duty but still work flawless.
    The only complaint I have is the physical size of the 902 makes it tough to get into tight areas. Don't have that issue with the 323 or 322

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    9
    I use the fieldpiece sc56 as my main meter. I like the swivel head and narrow carrying case fits in the service pouch nicely. I have the uei dl279 phoenix with a extended clamp head for backup in truck. The 279 has the UEI magnet I wish the fieldpiece 56 came with. Also have a amprobe clamp meter I keep just incase.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    900
    I have a fieldpiece SC56 that is used 90% of the time.i also have a Fluke 87V

    I use a copper blue box for air and water temps.

    AK900 for pipe temps.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McQueeney, Texas
    Posts
    4,033
    Since I got the sc76- I never looked back.

    One meter for me, except when an analog meter is better for seeing rapid voltage variations and such.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    8,232
    You need at least two meters....... at the very least a clamp and a multimeter....... but you need two because if you are working somewhere and one of your meters craps out..... you better have something around that can at least tell you if you have voltage or not...... and not one of those sticks...... a meter.

    More the better too..... I have 2 clamps and 2 multimeters on the truck now...
    YOU SHALL REAP WHAT YOU HAVE _______ SOWN

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McQueeney, Texas
    Posts
    4,033
    Quote Originally Posted by corny View Post
    You need at least two meters....... at the very least a clamp and a multimeter....... but you need two because if you are working somewhere and one of your meters craps out..... you better have something around that can at least tell you if you have voltage or not...... and not one of those sticks...... a meter.

    More the better too..... I have 2 clamps and 2 multimeters on the truck now...

    You are right.
    I carry 3 clamps, 2 extra meters, 1 light tester (and a partridge in a pear tree ).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    533
    Most multimeters have a higher ohm scale than clamp meter. I've been using the fluke 116 for years with a 373 clamp. 95% of the time the clamp is taking current readings exclusively, nothing else
    You have to pay your due's before you pay the rent!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event