Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    252

    RUN AWAY FURNACE !

    Guys.,headed out tomorrow on a 3yr old Goodman furnace that customer said was running when she got home after work,temp 105 degrees in house. She says she caught it once earlier this year acting "funny". May be an intermittent problem. Any thoughts if not obvious?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmicmuffin View Post
    Guys.,headed out tomorrow on a 3yr old Goodman furnace that customer said was running when she got home after work,temp 105 degrees in house. She says she caught it once earlier this year acting "funny". May be an intermittent problem. Any thoughts if not obvious?
    First thing I would do it install a digital stat, then set the temp. limit at the stat for heat, you can do this with a simple Honeywell FocusPro 5000. If this don't help, you might have the red stat wire trickling to the white somewhere from the furnace to the stat.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Savannah, Ga/H.H. Island, S.C.
    Posts
    1,525
    Mr. Bill is on the right track. Sounds like a thermostat program/malfunction issue or a low volt short.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,213
    i would say R is touching W

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,120
    Could be a white Rogers t-stat.
    They like to do that...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    179
    I have seen this happen with w/r thermostats when the batteries go dead. I also had a humidistat bringing on the heat due to being miswired. Maybe something to check, good luck!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    117
    change the batteries. happened at my house a couple years back

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    478
    mr bill...... after 14thousand posts......the red wire????? and the white wire?????

    OMFG......

    im in trouble cause i only got a white and a black wire.....I dunno whAT to do?


    Please, Please Please......keep the Factory Smoke in the Wires!!!!!


    Is it Rum'Oclock yet???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    252
    The Red and White are the obvious..,the Factory Rep. says to check the gas valve.,will let all know soon!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,068
    Quote Originally Posted by BigBacardi View Post
    mr bill...... after 14thousand posts......the red wire????? and the white wire?????

    OMFG......

    im in trouble cause i only got a white and a black wire.....I dunno whAT to do?
    WELL, WHEN YOUR SOMEWHERE BETWEEN HERE AND THERE, i CAN SEE WHY YOU MIGHT USE THE BACK WIRE FOR HEAT, WAS THERE A MESSAGE HERE? Go have another Rum and Coke you will figure it out. What does post count have to do with anything? Obammy has been the President for 4 years and still don't know which end is up.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    252
    Replaced thermostat..,no further call backs!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,367
    Was it a w/r touchscreen? Mine did the same thing. Replaced my stat and also added mechanical stat in return (to open "w"). No more problems.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    619
    Probly a LUX or Hunter t-stat, go for the gold with a honeywell brand or WR.
    luck dan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event