Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern California, foothills.
    Posts
    212

    Ruud heat pump outdoor coil error code, "coil sensor fail"

    Ruud heat pump outdoor coil.
    Cools just fine.
    Switch over to heating and
    the outdoor unit throws an error code,
    something like "coil sensor fail", (or failure or similar).
    Model number is UPNE-036JAZ

    The unit had been heating fine. Indoor unit, air-handler,
    was swapped out with a Bryant. Basic Honeywell tstat.
    Pro4000. Switched to heat pump. Advanced setup
    menu item 1 switched to heat pump as well.

    Am I going nuts or was I wrong to expect to see
    control voltage at Y terminal at the air-handler
    and outside unit upon a call for heat?
    Five minute delay was taken into account.
    Had to leave before I could systematically troubleshoot.
    I don't even get to return tomorrow. Senior guy is going
    out to ensure customer is happy.
    I'm simply puzzled and have to know what the problem is.

    For starters, what does Ruud mean by a "coil sensor fail"?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    365
    It's demand defrost...sensor measuring coil temp is faulty. Or at least, the board thinks it is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern California, foothills.
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Saturatedpsi View Post
    It's demand defrost...sensor measuring coil temp is faulty. Or at least, the board thinks it is.
    You're beautiful.

    (Thanks.)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,379
    Quote Originally Posted by georgelass View Post
    Basic Honeywell tstat. Pro4000. Switched to heat pump. Advanced setup menu item 1 switched to heat pump as well.

    Am I going nuts or was I wrong to expect to see control voltage at Y terminal at the air-handler and outside unit upon a call for heat?

    Advanced setup menu item 1 switched to heat pump as well.
    No you are not nuts, you should have a "Y" signal when there is a call for heat with a heat pump.

    I know this job has been given to someone else now, but I was just curious if this issue of "NO HEAT" started when the thermostat was replaced?

    If so, the Pro TH4110D thermostat needs a field installed jumper between "W" and "Y" for the compressor to energize in heat mode.

    The advanced setup you mentioned above, is only for the reversing valve to be energized.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    611
    Very good point Rundawg...
    Chaos equals cash$$$

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern California, foothills.
    Posts
    212
    The no heat started when we replaced the air-handler. The old one had a leak.
    But the installer undid a bunch of things and he might not have noticed some
    things and there was talk between homeowner and installer about somebody
    previously monkey-rigging things to get it to work.
    I did not talk to the tech that visited the problem today, but he did
    say a two-stage heat thermostat would be necessary. He might have
    addressed the Ruud heat-pump unit's error code. Maybe a loose wire?
    No word on that.

    Hey, jumping W to Y at the tstat was the last thing I did before I left yesterday.

    I left my best gauges at that site, I think, or out in the parking lot, and now
    they are gone. That thought is starting my weekend out on a bad note.

    Thank you for the help everybody.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,083
    If its a new air handler with an X13 or ECM motor then its possible the "Y" from the t-stat is not hooked up to the indoor board which would make the blower motor only run at about 1/2 speed. That could cause the outdoor unit to cut out on high pressure.
    Gary
    -----------
    http://www.oceanhvac.com
    An engineer designs what he would never work on.
    A technician works on what he would never design.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event