Page 6 of 22 FirstFirst 1234567891011121316 ... LastLast
Results 66 to 78 of 284
  1. #66
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Atlanta ga
    Posts
    227
    sorry bout that

  2. #67
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,727
    Merged threads.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #68
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,862
    Quote Originally Posted by Youngwiseman View Post
    should this ground be located on the burners connected all the way back to the groud going to the main power coming in the unit . let me know
    You have enough posts to apply for Pro membership now.

    I'll be happy to answer your technical questions in the Pro forums.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #69
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Atlanta ga
    Posts
    227

    i need help

    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    You have enough posts to apply for Pro membership now.

    I'll be happy to answer your technical questions in the Pro forums.
    i will apply a.s.ap. but i really need help. i have replace the flame censor and i still have the same results ,the burners lights up but after 3 to 5 seconds it goes right out ,right when the hsi deenergizes the burners shut off,ok, i would greatly appreciate some one explaining these grounds for me ,i have a ground wire coming from my disconnect box , and i have a ground wire and screw on the primary side of the transformer i hooked them up,same result ,the ground on the secondary side is good ,gas valve good ,continuity in flame censor wire is good ,so what is going on ,can my ifc be bad from this simple problem , ifc cant read the signal from the flame censor to keep my gas valve open wow ,cant be please let me know something

  5. #70
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    1,090
    So did you "Purge" the line yet?

    Keep throwin parts at it sooner or later the air will be out of the line

  6. #71
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,244
    If the burner lights, I doubt there is air in the lines. Does the control board have a blinking light on it? If so, is it a steady blinking, or does it blink a few times, then pause, and then blink some more? You usually need to look through a little clear plastic circle in the door panel to see it, because once you remove the door it will stop blinking. Let us know what the blinking light is doing.

  7. #72
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,509
    Guessing you still don't have a manometer or a meter to check uA. You don't want to apply for professional membership. If you are unable to ask your employer or another tech for help, maybe you are just looking for DIY which is not allowed here. Good luck
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  8. #73
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Kentucky
    Posts
    55
    The burners are the ground, The IFC sends AC signal to flame rod. The flame passes over the flame Rod, The current will actually flow through the flame from the Flame sensor to the burner ( which is the ground) because the flame can actually conduct electricity but it rectifys its signal and converts the AC to DC current. The IFC senses this DC signal through its ground connection to furnace. Make sure the ground connection to IFC is in good shape. This whole situation may not even be your problem you may be barking up the wrong tree. Is Your Pressure switchs dropping out because your flue pipe is stopped up? what kinda of furnace is this 90%?

  9. #74
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Atlanta ga
    Posts
    227

    smile

    Quote Originally Posted by 2sac View Post
    Guessing you still don't have a manometer or a meter to check uA. You don't want to apply for professional membership. If you are unable to ask your employer or another tech for help, maybe you are just looking for DIY which is not allowed here. Good luck
    lol @you and your negativity ,gotta love it, i can do any thing myself sir because i am certified in hvac sir,so actually im certified to do everything you do ,are you jealous hope cause im the one confused here with this simple problem and i have applied for pro membership sir . thank you,nice talking to you but anyway....

  10. #75
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Atlanta ga
    Posts
    227
    Ok ,no air in gas line ,no need to purge,gas flow and pressure is good , gas company made sure of this,now as for the blinks ,i have 1 blink , which means ignition failure, probable causes are gas flow gas pressure,flame sensor ,or ifc allare good ,now im a electrician also so tomarrow im going to start from the disconnect switch and hook up all grounds securely ,now i see no wire coming from the burners that seem like its connected to ground so should i tie a ground wire to the primary ground or secondary ground i have both, help.

  11. #76
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,862
    Quote Originally Posted by Youngwiseman View Post
    lol @you and your negativity ,gotta love it, i can do any thing myself sir because i am certified in hvac sir,so actually im certified to do everything you do ,are you jealous hope cause im the one confused here with this simple problem and i have applied for pro membership sir . thank you,nice talking to you but anyway....
    Let's make some things clear.

    First, from your user name, you just MIGHT have an attitude problem. When I read the post above, I am CERTAIN of it. If you were as good as that post I just quoted suggests, you would be giving info here, and not asking for it.

    So, pick up a large Mrs. Smith's Humble Pie, and dig in.

    Second, the help you are seeking is not provided in open forums. Whomever you work for has the responsibility to answer your questions, and once you get Pro membership, you can ask them in the Pro forums.

    Third, work on your written communication. Unless English is your second language, or you have a brain tumor, you have no excuse to not post in a clear, logical manner. Being successful in this business REQUIRES the ability to express thoughts clearly in writing and speaking.

    Fourth. comprehend the writing of others. Once you were told to get Pro membership, that's that. It is the only way that you will not be identified as a potential DIY poster. If you are a working pro, all you have to do is produce the required info, and bang, you can ask anything you want, and guys here will fall over themselves trying to help you get better at this.

    So, let's review.


    Stow the attitude, write and read clearly, get Pro membership, and then ask.

    Simple. No offense intended.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  12. #77
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,213
    Have these folks been without heat since November 1?

  13. #78
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,862
    Quote Originally Posted by Youngwiseman View Post
    Ok ,no air in gas line ,no need to purge,gas flow and pressure is good , gas company made sure of this,now as for the blinks ,i have 1 blink , which means ignition failure, probable causes are gas flow gas pressure,flame sensor ,or ifc allare good ,now im a electrician also so tomarrow im going to start from the disconnect switch and hook up all grounds securely ,now i see no wire coming from the burners that seem like its connected to ground so should i tie a ground wire to the primary ground or secondary ground i have both, help.
    Some furnaces will need a very good ground, and unless you have an unusual problem from the panel or disconnect, that is not your issue. Unless you have a ground issue from the module or board on the furnace, going to your burners, then that ground (bond, in reality) is not the issue, either.

    You need to measure rectification current, which is easy unless the HSI doubles as the flame sensor, as it can on some models.

    Your most likely path to the cause is the failure of the circuitry to see a consistent flame proving input.

    No step by step instruction in the open.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







Page 6 of 22 FirstFirst 1234567891011121316 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event