Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Eagle (Boise), Idaho
    Posts
    385

    having some beef with the sc56. what about hs36?

    Someone broke into my van, need to buy all new tools :/
    As far as meters, I am coming from a UEI dl289 and sc56.
    I'm thinking about going for the hs36 but have heard complaints about it being inaccurate or whatever. But not having a freaking magnet, and a place to pop my leadsinto is driving me nuts. Both of which are cured with the hs36.
    I also like that I can attach all my attachment heads to the top of the 36, while I need to plug them into the leads of the 56.
    How inaccurate is this hs36
    Have they fixed the issues?
    its been out for so long now.
    And I heard about the fluctuating mv reading with the leads not touching anything, don't care about that. My Uei did it and its normal.

    For all you fluke cultists, they are still overpriced and overrated, and I like the meter attachment accessories like the airflow, Co, manometer etc etc.

    So being that I am willing to switch just for the magnet and lead holders, is the hs36 THAT bad as a meter that it would overshadow the positive affect of having a magnet and lead storage?
    Any likes/dislikes about either?
    Tell Obama he can keep the change

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    I have a sc56 and the only problem I have ever had was it would not read over 600V. The meter is rated to 600v but I assumed it would do 15% over ( my mistake and not a fieldpiece issue ).

    I dont own the hs36 but used another techs that I work with and really liked the magnet and probe storage. The hs36 will fit in my Veto better than my sc56. I'm gonna watch ebay for a good price on one.

    I compared my Fluke 87V to the SC56 and the HS36 and they were all within a few volts of each other which is good enough for the work I do.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,951
    Quote Originally Posted by eddiegoodfellar View Post
    I have a sc56 and the only problem I have ever had was it would not read over 600V. The meter is rated to 600v but I assumed it would do 15% over ( my mistake and not a fieldpiece issue ).

    I dont own the hs36 but used another techs that I work with and really liked the magnet and probe storage. The hs36 will fit in my Veto better than my sc56. I'm gonna watch ebay for a good price on one.

    I compared my Fluke 87V to the SC56 and the HS36 and they were all within a few volts of each other which is good enough for the work I do.
    FWIW it looks like UEi bumped up to 750VAC on their DL3xx series meters where I believe the older ones were 600VAC
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    Does UEI make the meters for Klein?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,951
    Quote Originally Posted by eddiegoodfellar View Post
    Does UEI make the meters for Klein?
    Sure looks like it. Has a magnet and lead storage too.

    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Eagle (Boise), Idaho
    Posts
    385
    So here's what I am doing.
    I have a magnet and I'm gonna drill (2) holes through it to match the 2 screw holes above the serial number on the back of the sc56.
    The meter shouldn't be affected from the magnetic field, but I am fitting in some rubber stoppers to decrease the amount of Gauss getting to the components.

    I am also creating a mold that will house the leads.
    I will use the 2 screws from the battery compartment cover to keep the mold secure.

    I will then break off those black tabs that keep you from having the leads plugged in when using the temperature feature.
    As long as leads are stored and not coming into contact with anything, the meter will be fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,951
    eddie whats the issue with the SC56 in the VETO? I was considering the SC57.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    I actually keep the sc56 in the TP3 and if there was probe storage it would just be easier for me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,951
    Ok....TP3
    FP are tall meters. I could see issues with that combo.
    I don't use the lead storage on my UEi since I went to Fieldpiece leads then to Fluke leads. Neither of them fit.
    Each one wrapped a different way but well enough not to unravel into a mess the tool bag. Is the SC56 a problem with how narrow and long it is?
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orange County, in a Galaxy far far away...
    Posts
    277
    I actually have not one but 2 hs36's.
    When my first had a few issues I bought a 2nd to get back to work. Then went to field piece a couple days later and got a brand new hs36.
    I planned to keep it as a back up just in case my regular ever crapped out on me.
    However I could use a few bucks before Xmas.
    Best offer takes it. Open to trades.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    I is just a little tight in the TP3 when I have it in the case. I only have it in the case because I'm worried about damaging the leads. In all honestly though I do have the TP3 over loaded.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    1,047
    I also have been using the hs36 for the last couple years and love it. I also use many of the various head attachments and have really enjoyed such versatility of the meter. If it broke I would likely replace it with another.
    Ron

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,455
    I use an hs36 and I love it. My fluke 902 is my back up meter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event