Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1

    No flame signal? Replaced flame sensor but no joy

    Hi, I have a Goodman Furnance #GDS80703ANA, and the led flashes 7 times, saying that there is no flame signal. When I turn it on, the blower starts, the ignitor glows, but it doesn't start burning, there is no flame at all. I've replace the flame sensor, but still nothing. Please let me know what you think! Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,992
    Can't sense what isn't there

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    4,855
    What he's saying is since there is no flame, there is nothing for the flame sensor to do, albeit you wasted your money on a part that you did not need. We can't get into DIY as it is against the rules. You will need to call an HVAC service company to properly evaluate your furnace.
    A good HVAC tech knows how, an educated HVAC tech knows why!

    DEM


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,376
    Did you pay your gas bill?
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.
    • HVAC pyschrometrics is what makes indoor human comfort happen...IF the ducts AND the building envelope cooperate.


    A building is NOT beautiful unless it is also comfortable.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Shophound View Post
    Did you pay your gas bill?
    Yep, gas is on, my water heater is gas and it works. I'm thinking that its the gas pressure switch. Am I supposed to smell any gas when it tries to start?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    Time to call a service tech. Sorry, this is not a DIY site.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,145
    You need to call a tech.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    yep...save the other flame rod... it will be good for a spare in the future.....
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    keep throwing parts at it; even a blind squirrel gets a nut once in awhile.
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,376
    Quote Originally Posted by ShibaSig View Post
    Yep, gas is on, my water heater is gas and it works. I'm thinking that its the gas pressure switch. Am I supposed to smell any gas when it tries to start?
    If the pressure switch is bad, you may have issues beyond just the bad switch. Hire a technician who performs combustion analysis. He can not only get your furnace running again, he may be able to find out why it failed in the first place. Don't screw around with DIY when it comes to furnaces.
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.
    • HVAC pyschrometrics is what makes indoor human comfort happen...IF the ducts AND the building envelope cooperate.


    A building is NOT beautiful unless it is also comfortable.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,778
    I doubt it's the pressure switch, call a pro to fix it. If you keep throwing parts at it you'll probably spend more than it would cost for a tech to diagnose and solve the problem before you finally fix it or end up calling a pro bc you can't fix it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,508
    no gas is getting to burners. call a tech to find out why. could be just about anything. boards and gas valves are expensive parts to guess with.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    28
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 11-01-2012 at 04:47 PM. Reason: Non Pro * Member

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event