Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340

    Trane Intellipaks

    Have a site with a few Trane Intellipaks. They have BCI boards down to a Jace. The problem I'm having is space temperature.

    I'm averaging the VAV's and writing to the BAS Space Temperature. The problem is, the units are using the local space temperature from the connected zone sensor.....for active space temperature. I tried changing the space temperature source at the RTU, but I still can't get the RTU to use the BAS input.

    Any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    735
    Is the Space Temp BAS "in service" or "out of service"? Even if you write to it the point needs to be in service to be used.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    I don't see anything in regards to "in service" or "out of service"?

    We had Trane come out and commission the BCI. All my other points are writing fine.....like BAS discharge air and BAS minimum OA damper position.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    735
    It will be a bacnet property, when you scan the point expand it out and also bring in that. Then see if its in or out of service.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    "Out of Service" was set to false. I brought it anyway and enabled it.

    Still it's using Local Space Temp for Active Space Temp.

    All my setpoints are taking.....it just won't take my space temp.
    Last edited by ascj; 09-07-2012 at 05:44 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    63
    There is a BACnet point that allows you to choose between BAS Control or Stand Alone Control.

    On my last few projects it was BO1, but it is different with each unit.

    Make sure it is set for BAS Control.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    So I finally got back over there. Here's the scoop. By writing to the BAS space temperature, it doesn't change the active space temperature. But my MWU, DWU, and Unocc heat/cool is using my BAS space temperature for control. So I guess there wasn't any issue?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    GMT-8
    Posts
    17
    This sounds familiar. I ran into this issue a year ago with Intellipaks connected to my customer's JCI system by Lontalk cards. Trane guy got his support on the line and they said this is the way the Intellipak works. It only reports the communicated "BAS" space temperature as the active value when its actually being used. It only gets used during morning warm up, daytime warm up, unoccupied control and if you select zone based supply air temperature reset. Sounds like you have them all disable in the Intellipak unit interface screen.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    Quote Originally Posted by HRCtech View Post
    This sounds familiar. I ran into this issue a year ago with Intellipaks connected to my customer's JCI system by Lontalk cards. Trane guy got his support on the line and they said this is the way the Intellipak works. It only reports the communicated "BAS" space temperature as the active value when its actually being used. It only gets used during morning warm up, daytime warm up, unoccupied control and if you select zone based supply air temperature reset. Sounds like you have them all disable in the Intellipak unit interface screen.
    I have DWU disabled and doing my discharge air reset outside the unit.

    Even in those modes, my active zone temp always shows my connected zone sensor. I just pulled up the units. Active zone temperature is 60 degrees. My BMS zone temperature is 70 degrees. Unoccupied setpoint is 65 degrees. Unit is not heating. If I change my BMS temp below 65 unit goes into heating.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    GMT-8
    Posts
    17
    Hmmm thats weird. Must be different between Bacnet and Lontalk. It sounds like a good time to get a Trane expert here on the line.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event