Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 48
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078

    Confused York RTU Nightmare

    Got a call today from another tech in our company who is having heat issues. When he got there the inducer was running and the ignition module was sparking and gas valve was open but not lighting the burner. So he took apart the burners and cleaned the pilot burners and orifices. After putting it back together it still would not light. He finally got it lit with a torch and it ran fine but would again not refire after the call for heat. He gave me a call and I suggested that it might be an issue with the pilot burners or the electrodes. So he replaced the parts I suggested. When he went to start it up again he now had nothing at all except the inducer running. The ignition modules had no power to them for some reason. I have not been there yet but was trying to figure out what happened. He did not disconnect any other wiring except the electrode. If anyone has any ideas or the wiring diagram that would be great.

    Model #D2CG180N32025ECC
    Serial # NKDM085916
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    You need a lot more info. What was the gas pressure? What was the pilot pressure? When he lit the burner with a torch ( not smart by the way) what was the gas pressure. When he put the new ignition module in was it a factory Johnson Control unit or a like in kind?
    I STARTED WITH NOTHING, AND I STILL HAVE MOST OF IT!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Delta BC Canada
    Posts
    84
    Centrifugal switch on the ventor motor ,roll out switch ,or high limit could be the reason for no power to the module. As to not lighting sometimes the spark generated by the module is incorrect and is not enough to ignite the gas .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078
    You are right about not being smart.. He only changed the electrodes and the pilot tube.. I have no other info but that for now. But I cant figure out why he has no control voltage to the ignoition modules when they were working before this.
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    evansville indiana
    Posts
    943
    Did he have it running "hot" and shut the disco off before shutting the heat off and letting it cool down ? He may have caused a limit to trip . Maybe he disturbed some wiring and doesn't know it yet.

    Should be easy to trace down with the schematic .

    I wonder if the pilot valve is opening and he faked it out with a torch . You know he's getting gas because he got the main burners lit . I would still check incoming and manifold pressures.


    Good luck.
    mikeacman

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078
    Quote Originally Posted by DPinst View Post
    Centrifugal switch on the ventor motor ,roll out switch ,or high limit could be the reason for no power to the module. As to not lighting sometimes the spark generated by the module is incorrect and is not enough to ignite the gas .
    He said the centrifugal and limits were all good. Voltage does not seem to be present before the limits. I am thinking he might have a bad relay but I have no diagram to look at.
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078
    He had it running while he went to go get parts. When he came back it was shut down but inducer was running. He changed out parts and it would not fire at all. He said he checked all the safeties and they are good.
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeacman View Post
    Did he have it running "hot" and shut the disco off before shutting the heat off and letting it cool down ? He may have caused a limit to trip . Maybe he disturbed some wiring and doesn't know it yet.

    Should be easy to trace down with the schematic .

    I wonder if the pilot valve is opening and he faked it out with a torch . You know he's getting gas because he got the main burners lit . I would still check incoming and manifold pressures.


    Good luck.
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    .
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078
    Quote Originally Posted by ar_hvac_man View Post
    .
    Thank you. printing it off now
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,822
    Heat relay.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    Heat relay.
    That's what I was thinking.


    Sent from my iPhone 4s
    using Tapatalk
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Lethbridge Alberta
    Posts
    4
    I have a York Training manual for a D1CG 15/20 ton unit with wiring diagrams It may be similar to the D2 series you have. The larger units have heat relays. I can enlarge these drawings and fax them to you if you like?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,078
    Quote Originally Posted by Theref View Post
    I have a York Training manual for a D1CG 15/20 ton unit with wiring diagrams It may be similar to the D2 series you have. The larger units have heat relays. I can enlarge these drawings and fax them to you if you like?
    Thanks. I have the wiring diagrams now. I appreciate your help.


    Sent from my iPhone 4s
    using Tapatalk
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event