Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 70
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,579
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Can you post tech to tech without pro status?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes.

    Only forums specifically labeled as Pro are closed forums.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Yes.

    Only forums specifically labeled as Pro are closed forums.
    Ok I see, I just assumed to post here you would be a verified tech.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    613
    Did you check that the gas meter was maybe locked off ?
    Use your manometer on the outlet (manifold) side of the gasvalve, you should have approx 3.5 in wc and between 3.2 to 3.8 in wc per the manufactors label.
    If you have gas pressure thats good, but indicates an issue with ignition = ie: bad burners, crossovers, bug in orifice, air flow past ignitior gasket, and ect.
    luck dan
    ps - stay around, maybe we can learn you a little bit.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,579
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Ok I see, I just assumed to post here you would be a verified tech.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Every new tech on the boards has to start somewhere.

    This is it.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Every new tech on the boards has to start somewhere.

    This is it.
    Ok guess I forgot that part lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    I like this guy!

    most natural gas manifold pressures will be 3-3.5" wc

    "wc is defined as the pressure exerted by a column of water of 1 inch in height

    one pound pressure per square inch will lift a column of water 2.31 ft or 27.7"
    inversley .433 psi will lift a column of water one foot. we usually round it off to 1/2.

    most residential gas valves and regulators are rated at 1/2 lb pressure inlet max.

    that would be about 14" wc

    In North America, air and other industrial gasses are often measured in inches of water when at low pressure. This is in contrast to inches of mercury or psi for larger pressures. It is also used in natural gas distribution for measuring utilization pressure (U.P., i.e. the residential point of use) which is typically between 6 and 7 inches WC (6~7" WC) or about 0.25 psi.

    .36 psi, or 27.7 in≈ 1 psi.


    in my area most residential areas are around 7"wc. entering

    hopefully you have a 1/4" plug entering the gas valve?

    some gas valves have an 1/8" or 1/4" plug

    I am old and always use an actual manometer.
    I also use a digital testo to verify.

    jp is right
    you gotta start somewhere!

    good luck!

    Frank



    Quote Originally Posted by robh1113 View Post
    ok...gonna check my pressures tomorrow...I made sure gas valve was off until the correct diagnosis was made and fixed. I didnt want to jeopordize anyones life. Im here looking for help from experience techs and thankful for any positive help.
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    Quote Originally Posted by robh1113 View Post
    ok, I have a furnace that wouldn't come on for a customer. Its a Carrier natural gas hot surface ignition system. I came up to it and It went thru the initial cycle for heat, until the gas valve was energized. No gas outta valve. I got 24v to it, I checked the wiring, ground to furnace. everything looked fine. I had a universal valve on my truck and put it in. Same problem. Tomorrow im going back with my gas pressure test kit. I doubt its the new valve, but not impossible. What should my pressure in and out of the gas valve be? The furnace tag says min. 4.5" max 13.5" out...The pressure coming in should be what? I opened the shut off valve with the flex off and it seemed alittle week and was whistling as it was comng out. My guess is either the gas valve factory settings too low or the incoming pressure is weak...any suggestions...thanks
    Wow ...... Really.......13.5" don't think so...... why on earth are you in someones home when you do not know the most basic thing.....I want to tell you but not allowed......better google it or ask your boss......
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    i am a new tech!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Ok guess I forgot that part lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  9. #22
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    i am a new tech!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    If your new I must be a burger flipper at McDonalds!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    If your new I must be a burger flipper at McDonalds!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    i still use mercury!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i collect old stats so i can refill all my manometers!
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    i still use mercury!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i collect old stats so i can refill all my manometers!
    Now I remember why I flip burgers, my dad use to let's play with mercury on a plate when I was a child, well that's when I ran out of paint chips!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,040
    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    i still use mercury!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i collect old stats so i can refill all my manometers!
    U want a bucket full? Lol

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event