Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Severna Park, MD
    Posts
    19

    pilotless hot water tanks

    Hi Guys,
    Can a natural gas pilotless hot water tank be manually started? I understand how my heating system (furnace) operates and know it needs power to operate. But, in times of outages, I would like to have hot water.
    Thanks for any replies.
    Ken

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,774
    No. Might want to look into a small generator.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Severna Park, MD
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    No. Might want to look into a small generator.

    Hi,
    Thanks. Yes, I've been looking at transfer switches as I have a generator, but, thus far the outages have not been prolonged to the point of real concern. I was just thinking there can be a way of triggering the gas control device manually.
    Ken

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,774
    It takes electric for the flame sensor to prove their is a flame. Without proof of flame, the valve closes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Severna Park, MD
    Posts
    19
    I'm having a difficult time trying to figure this out. This is a gas system with "no" electrical connections? Is there an internal spark generator of some type?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,774
    If its pilotless. There has to be electric running to it. It has to have either a spark or HSI ignition system. And a flame proving system. HSI will use the HSI to ignite teh gas, and then to prove flame, spark will use a flame rod.

    Post brand and model number.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Severna Park, MD
    Posts
    19
    Hi,
    Thanks for your patience...
    It's a "State" brand Model GS650YRBT. There is one wire leading from the top of the control valve to spark igniter(?) inside the unit.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,774
    The GS6 models I see. All have pilots. And piezo ignitors for lighting it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,512
    are you sure its pilotless have you tried it with out electric . the sprk ignitor is used to light the pilot
    We really need change now

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Severna Park, MD
    Posts
    19
    Yeah I get that part. But, I'm thinking when the temp drops, the water temp sensor (thermocouple/thermistor ckt) creates a miliovolt to fire the "Piezo", thus the gas valve opens(?)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,512
    the piezo is just to light the pilot if it goes out ,look real cloes and see if there is not a pilot light
    We really need change now

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,774
    Quote Originally Posted by Abuello View Post
    Yeah I get that part. But, I'm thinking when the temp drops, the water temp sensor (thermocouple/thermistor ckt) creates a miliovolt to fire the "Piezo", thus the gas valve opens(?)
    The piezo is manual. If the pilot goes out, you have to light it using the piezo.

    The temp sensor is mechanical. It doesn't generate any electric. So if your power goes out, you will have hot water as long as you have water coming to the house.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,575
    easy way to tell if it uses electricity, does it plug into the wall anyplace?

    no cord to an outlet, then it is not powered by electricity!
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event