Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 27
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by absrbrtek View Post
    The thread you drummed up is like 14 months old. Any type of Multi Crap needs a prayer, turbo core or recip.
    Yea what he said LOL

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    13
    our company just installed a new Turbocor chiller at a contract and i believe it is the biggest piece of **** out there. it came with no holding charge and we have found over 15 leaks on it. we also have another contract with retrofits and have constant compressor problems and they are installed correctly and evacuated properly before installation.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833

    tc

    I have never put one in.
    I have talked to some guys in kc and they swear that they have done a couple dozen retrofits and never had a problem!

    I have talked with one customer that has two and is buying two more.
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,176
    100% agree with Abs and Chiller32.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    melbourne aus
    Posts
    80

    turbocore

    hello,
    have not had a lot to do with theese turbo cores but a few mates have worked on them they were saying the early models had some bugs in them but the new models especially the water cooled models are pretty good now.
    its a shame the australian goverment didnt back the original designers.
    .

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    346
    A 23XRV will wip its arse and it's been tryed and testered, I have never seen a chiller of any kind that will unload to meet the output of the cooling tower and not drop out on high HP.

    Why didn't the big name players take up the Turbocor compressor. There must be method in their madness!!!!!!
    Last edited by Ausccn; 01-31-2008 at 07:45 AM. Reason: Add file

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Milwaukee Wisconsin
    Posts
    984
    The turbocore has a noise dampening & condensate prevention kit available. I did 3 this summer.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by Ausccn View Post
    A 23XRV will wip its arse and it's been tryed and testered, I have never seen a chiller of any kind that will unload to meet the output of the cooling tower and not drop out on high HP.

    Why didn't the big name players take up the Turbocor compressor. There must be method in their madness!!!!!!
    I think the heat down under is getting to you.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833
    what is an arse?
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    346
    Sorry...fanny to you guys....

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    23

    So Far So Good

    We have just installed a SMARDT chiller with dual turbocor compressors. The contol logic for the chiller is Kilteck. Our chiller is water cooled. It has been running for about 6 months with not one problem. Hope to continue with the good luck. I believe turbocor is the future of our industry. The DB (noise rating) in our machine room is unbelievablely quiet compared to our old york centrifugal chiller. I hope these gain popularity in our trade. We installed a honeywell Volcum refigerant monitor next to the new chiller to sense leaks if or when they occur. Since no oil is in the system it will be a little harder to leak check. Like any new technology bugs will have to be worked out and improvements will be made. I will post pictures of our install next week. Thanks Nathan, Sacramento California

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Garden Grove, CA
    Posts
    1

    Turborcor compressors

    Yes, Turborcors do have a few issues, but the company I work for has put in more Turborcors than any company in the country. Most problems are caused due to the Kiltech control not being set-up properly. We have since converted to the new Flexsys panels and have much better control over the overall system.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lexington South Carolina
    Posts
    17

    hvac supervisor in South Carolina

    Quote Originally Posted by feelthejoe View Post
    our company just installed a new Turbocor chiller at a contract and i believe it is the biggest piece of **** out there. it came with no holding charge and we have found over 15 leaks on it. we also have another contract with retrofits and have constant compressor problems and they are installed correctly and evacuated properly before installation.
    I spent two months evaluating three or four competing brands sold in SC. I, along with other managers at our facility visited 4 -5 sites sites looking at different "brands": I also saw a multistack turbocore and smardt turbocore at different locations in Charlotte, NC, and talked to an hvac supervisor in charge at The Florence detention center using 1 1/2 year old turbocore.

    Most had NO serious problems. At one site problems were fixed with software upgrades. Another site had "dirty" water towers and had industrial grade water prefilters added after the installation. One had to tighten a pressure gauge fitting to stop a leak.

    Another had a welder fasten a ground rod in the wrong place and take out the electronics.

    Our group saw nothing that scared us about the turbocores. The Austrailians are using them. They are being installed across the country. One of the ones in Charlotte was manufactured in Montreal Canada.

    We will install 750 tons of cooling at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine starting this winter after the dust settles from the bidding, and the winner is announced. We will be using factory authorized installers.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event