Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Sealtite snake

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,145

    Sealtite snake

    Found this on a roof in Niagara Falls. Typical. Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350689823.272253.jpg
Views: 944
Size:  75.7 KBName:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350689835.365525.jpg
Views: 910
Size:  78.9 KBName:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350689849.426685.jpg
Views: 852
Size:  102.2 KBName:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350689862.044086.jpg
Views: 826
Size:  96.7 KB


    Sent from my iPhone 4s
    using Tapatalk
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Could have went under the gas line at least lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    116
    Are they running those data cables with the high voltage power to the condensing unit?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,607
    What is that condenser?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,145
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    What is that condenser?
    I believe it was an EMI. I was up there working on an RTU.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    325
    Quote Originally Posted by danbb View Post
    Are they running those data cables with the high voltage power to the condensing unit?
    If its like most minis the line voltage feeds the CU, and it feeds power and a control wire to the AH. Most don't have a "data" cable or low voltage control cables.

    It kind of looks like someone could have pulled 120v FROM the condenser, probably the satellite guy. They don't operate by the same rules as the rest if us and they rarely have inspections.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete838 View Post
    If its like most minis the line voltage feeds the CU, and it feeds power and a control wire to the AH. Most don't have a "data" cable or low voltage control cables.

    It kind of looks like someone could have pulled 120v FROM the condenser, probably the satellite guy. They don't operate by the same rules as the rest if us and they rarely have inspections.
    Ah, that makes sense, I though they had pulled the coax cables from the satellite through the sealtite and through the condensing unit's disconnect to get it into the building

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,829
    Dish heater? To keep ice off?
    Nemo me impune lacessit.

    How much blood do I have to bathe in to get clean?

    Don't look down on anyone unless you're helping them up.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NW Louisiana
    Posts
    159
    Per NEC, no more than 6' of flex to a motor. I'd call a condensing unit a motor... Conduit is cheaper too.

    CT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,763
    Ah, that makes sense, I though they had pulled the coax cables from the satellite through the sealtite and through the condensing unit's disconnect to get it into the building
    Dish heater? To keep ice off?
    Quote Originally Posted by nsula_country View Post
    Conduit is cheaper too.

    CT
    Unless you don't have any on the truck...
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%
    ENERGY EFFICIENCY - leaving your thermostat where everyone is comfortable. Saving 30-70%

    DO THE NUMBERS! Step on a HOMESCALE.
    What is comfort? Well, it AIN'T just TEMPERATURE!

    Energy Obese? An audit is the next step - go to BPI.org, or RESNET, and find an auditor near you.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,337
    Quote Originally Posted by nsula_country View Post
    Per NEC, no more than 6' of flex to a motor. I'd call a condensing unit a motor... Conduit is cheaper too.

    CT
    As I'm sure timebuilder will say:

    "HVAC is special consideration, and that code does not apply."
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,505
    I've seen many RTU's with protected thermostat wire running across the roof. After 2-3 years the sun dry-rots the insulation and results in a service call next time it rains.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event