Do you need a mfgr label to service a/c condensor properly?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    11

    Do you need a mfgr label to service a/c condensor properly?

    I am looking at buying a bank foreclosure. The outside unit looks fairly new and has Puron labeled on the top--so it is a Carrier--and the furnace is a 2005 Carrier. But the outside unit is missing the metal plate covering the wiring--so the wiring has been exposed for months and the model number and serial number are on the missing plate. Will an a/c tech be able to service the unit based on the approximate size, probably a 2.5 to 3 ton because the house is 1200-1300 sq ft. I suppose a new plate could be bent to fit and protect the wires. And would the plate be missing because the unit has been condemned as unsafe? Or leaking freon? The unit turns on per the bank's inspection. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    518
    its odd that the units info tag is or was on the cover

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    518
    ive seen other info on the door though never that

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    518
    other than that maybe theres info on evap.
    and theres usually info on the comp.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    1,439
    A tech can look at the data tag on the compressor and tell what size it is.

    A competent tech can do most repairs without a data tag.

    Sent from my ERIS using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,007
    Carrier data plate is on electrical cover.

    It may be something they could provide off a old unit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    The cover is no big deal, can be ordered. The data plate missing is a bummer but not a deal breaker. A generic label can be obtained with the technical info, voltage, amperage, and such. The serial # would be the only killer if the unit still has some warranty left. A tech could, of asked, run the furnace and evap model and serial #s at the local supplier and see if perhaps they were all sold to gather as a system. If so the supplier will have the serial # and can get a new data plate with the correct info. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,607
    most carrierunits have a small tag inside the electrical compartment with the model and serial number . a cover could be bent up by a sheetmetal shop
    We really need change now

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL.
    Posts
    4,313
    Quote Originally Posted by mechanical'al View Post
    its odd that the units info tag is or was on the cover
    It's not odd - Carrier's been doing it for years, probably one of the few mfg's that do.
    I s'pose the reason most mfg's don't put the equipment info on the cover panel is for the very reason the OP mentioned above.

    I guess Carrier hasn't figured that out yet....
    WHY?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event