Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    25
    Post Likes

    York rooftop economizer question

    I was doing a pm on York rooftop, model# ZF048N10B1AAA2A, turned stat down to bring on cooling, but board is flashing 11, compressor locked out free cooling. Now problem is there is no economizer on this unit. I found molex plug where you would hook one up, now we are a Carrier dealer and I know on a Carrier rooftop you have to put a jumper plug in molex connector. Is this the same for York? I checked through the unit, didn't find a plug or installation booklet.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes
    Model Number shows Economizer in it (N10B1A, B = Direct Drive/Economizer), wonder if it was removed?

    Also, I found this in the manual, does that help?

    REMOVE JUMPER J2 FROM TERMINALS 4 AND 9 ON JUMPER PLUG CONNECTOR
    P6 ON UNITS WITH ECONOMIZER. TERMINALS A1 AND A2 PROVIDE A RELAY
    OUT-PUT TO CLOSE THE OUTDOOR ECONOMIZER DAMPERS WHEN THE
    THERMOSTAT SWITCHES TO THE SET-BACK POSITION.

    Here's a link to the manual I found which I believe is the correct one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    25
    Post Likes
    Thanks a lot for all the info, will have to go back and see if that works. For now I jumpered Y1-Y2. There is another one of these rooftops there, and it does have an economizer. I can see why they removed this one l, directly below where economizer mounts there is sewer vent pipe.

  4. Likes Chev5372 liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    23,931
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by vhdblood View Post
    Model Number shows Economizer in it (N10B1A, B = Direct Drive/Economizer), wonder if it was removed?

    Also, I found this in the manual, does that help?

    REMOVE JUMPER J2 FROM TERMINALS 4 AND 9 ON JUMPER PLUG CONNECTOR
    P6 ON UNITS WITH ECONOMIZER. TERMINALS A1 AND A2 PROVIDE A RELAY
    OUT-PUT TO CLOSE THE OUTDOOR ECONOMIZER DAMPERS WHEN THE
    THERMOSTAT SWITCHES TO THE SET-BACK POSITION.

    Here's a link to the manual I found which I believe is the correct one.
    On page 42 of the pdf file, note that the relay output being mentioned is on the thermostat, which is a feature of the old York stats. Many units had a corresponding pair of screws on the unit board labeled A1 and A2, which would receive that thermostat output. Most of the time with a modern digital stat, the A1 and A2 terminals on the unit board have a jumper, permanently keeping the unit in occupied mode.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    23,931
    Post Likes
    The note # 7 on page 58 (for example) explains that the jumper from R to OCC be removed if the night setback function is being used. That is the modern board version of "A1 and A2".
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    135
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by MoBrewing View Post
    I can see why they removed this one l, directly below where economizer mounts there is sewer vent pipe.
    Classic!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech 365