Thread: My options?

Unhappy

Hey guys,

I am a HVAC student in the Atlanta metro area. I am going after a AAT degree in HVAC technology. I am 31 yrs. old. I go to school during the day so I have been trying to find an evening job to get me by while I am attending school. Sound easy? Not for me. I have a bad criminal background. 9 1/2 years in the slammer, split between two trips. I really screwed up my youth. I am trying to get my you know what together, but I am up against a brick wall. With no credible experience(I have 3 1/2yrs. building maint. but can't claim it because it was while I was in) and the criminal background I cannot get a job. I have applied to over 100 jobs 0 calls. I am talking about $7-$8hr jobs in factories, grocery stores etc.
    My question is this. When I graduate and recieve my degree how hard is going to be for me to get a job in the industry? What can I do now to rectify my standing in the job market?.........Thanks ahead of time for any advice.

jls74,
    keep trying and never give up.
    Check out a post by hvac74 thats looking for a trainee,
    here is the link in case it got shuffled from top
    Good luck bro
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=118732

opps that should be hvac45,
    sorry 45 didn't mean to make you older than you are :-)

i'm having a hard time just because i was arrested for a felony, i don't have a felony on my record.

i've seen some guys get hired out of prison and get jobs in residential repair, while covered in tats.

you might be able to find a decent job in new construction installation.

Thumbs up

Thanks for the positive comments. I am trying to find someplace to get my foot in the door in the industry. Also, I am getting an idea of the overall attitude toward someone in my position.

any chance you'll move?