Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    SaudiArabia
    Posts
    60

    Exclamation Trend Third Party

    Is the other workstation is neccessary with equivalent to BMS workstation, if we are using the third party integration for "TONN" gateways.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Tonn workstation?

    Quote Originally Posted by safwan View Post
    Is the other workstation is neccessary with equivalent to BMS workstation, if we are using the third party integration for "TONN" gateways.
    Sorry Sawfan need a bit more info here.

    If you mean can you talk directly to a Tonn with a niagara workstation, then yes is the answer.
    The niagara points can be learnt the same as any other Jace.

    Trends 963 supervisor wont talk to the Tonn directly, you need to install (and pay for) TOPS.
    TOPS is essentially a stripped down version of workbench, it automatically runs a station that you configure through
    simple menus.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,670
    Just my 2 pennies...

    Leave 963 in the UK and just use the TONN for the workstation or get AX supervisor. Using 963 with Niagara on site seems like a huge step in reverse.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    336
    Quote Originally Posted by orion242 View Post
    Just my 2 pennies...

    Leave 963 in the UK and just use the TONN for the workstation or get AX supervisor. Using 963 with Niagara on site seems like a huge step in reverse.
    Agreed for the US, Orion242. Trend look at things a bit different over here!
    gnomethang
    _______________________________________________
    "Once men turned their thinking over to machines in the hope that this would set them free. But that only permitted other men with machines to enslave them."
    - The Reverend Mother Gaius Helen Mohiam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,670
    LOL... You can allays tell them... "<Insert XYZ Tbox peddler here> have been knocking my door down. Keep the BINC, 963, TOPs, etc, and I'll pull everything in Bacnet and be done with it"

    Been there done that.

    From what I hear they locked it down over there, while here it couldn't be more open. US customers are not going to tolerate crippled Jaces. At least none of the big ones.

    US pricing is such that its often more cost effective to use Niagara on the top end over 963/tops/BINC.

    I'll keep my raw opinions on 963 & TOPPs for the pro forum.
    Last edited by orion242; 10-23-2012 at 08:29 PM.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    336
    Heh! I am a pro member here too but i don't need to go there to know your opinion on TOPS !!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    I don't understand the Trend strategy with TOPS, 963/TOPS/BINC is too "complicate" and more expensive... It's like cat food,
    "You're boring with your niagara, we have develop TOPS, take and leave us alone". Anyway!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event