Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    799

    SC77 Meter Reading Resistance Incorrectly

    Hi all,

    I have a Fieldpiece SC77 meter that I have been using for a couple of years. I noticed today that when set to measure resistance the meter shows between 0.5 and 0.8 ohms with the leads shorted together. I have tried some of my other leads and have the same issue. I mean I know 3/4 of an ohm is not a big thing, but I can put long leads on my meter, or little 5 inch ones and get the same reading.

    Is this something I should be worried about? I am probably only worried because a month ago the k-type thermocouple mode was reading a few hundred degrees inside a 40 degree refrigerator. I tried 4 completely different thermocouples and a new battery and nothing changed. A couple of days later it is reading the proper temperatures again.

    I guess I am a little skeptical of my meter now.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Charleston, Wv.
    Posts
    1,507
    sounds like it's time for a replacement!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Mine does funky stuff like that with the thermometer, if i turn it off and on or unplug and replug it seems to work.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    Make sure you got fresh batteries. There should be a calibration pot on the circuit board if the batteries are good.
    Do NOT click HERE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    OP, mine does the same exact thing. I've owned 2 SC77s and both have done it.

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Birmingham Al
    Posts
    256
    mine had dust in it took it apart and cleaned it out working good now. well see how long this lasts.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    2,535
    You know I would post your issue in the public TOOL forum. Both Travis and Russell with Fieldpiece frequent that forum and are more than happy to assist you with anything. Or Drop either or both with a message...Travid is "Ault51", and Russell is "RussellHarju".
    They are great guys and probably just replace your meter if they deem it an issue for free...warranty or not, they really look out for us H-Talk guys.

    As for the resistance compensation or internal zeroing...I find all my digital testing equipment does some erratic stuff when it is bitter cold or my batteries are giving up their last bit of breathe. I will usually take my DMM apart and clean the internal lead and thermocouple connections, they get gummed up with a film that causes some erratic readings...I do the same on my lead ends with a small round wire brush.
    My K-Type thermocouples don't last long, for some reason the wire gets damaged internally, I don't know...It works fine one moment and jiggle the yellow wire and then it starts to fart out some whacked reading...so who knows. Digital instrumentation is a wonderful thing, but sure can get aggravating sometimes, and even plant seeds of doubt only at the times when you need a reliable partner.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    799
    You know, I have no idea why I didn't post this in the Tool forum! Is it possible just to move the whole thread there?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    2,535
    Hit the triangle exclamation button on bottom of your post and ask moderators to move the thread to the tool section.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,308
    Moved to tools and test equipment forum.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,405
    Someone may have mentioned this already: Batteries and the fuse inside the meter... Get the FP fuse, not a generic replacement.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event