Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 32 of 32
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,498
    Quote Originally Posted by millertime77 View Post
    Why? Is that not how you are suppossed to check a flame sensor? Will it ruin the meter like that?
    The joke was that it only worked with my meter in the circuit so I could have just left it there.

    That would sure puzzle the next tech that liked at it.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    355
    Quote Originally Posted by craig1 View Post
    The joke was that it only worked with my meter in the circuit so I could have just left it there.

    That would sure puzzle the next tech that liked at it.
    Lol I take this stuff way too serious man.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,820
    Quote Originally Posted by millertime77 View Post
    Lol I take this stuff way too serious man.
    That's why I added the little whistling emoticon. Showing sarcasm.
    A Veteran is a person, who at some point in their life, wrote a blank check payable to the United States of America for payment up to and including their life.
    Gene Castagnetti-Director of the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific in Hawaii

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,077
    I remember back in my 20's I needed a flame sensor, now @61 the only flame I have is on my stove.........
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post

    I sometimes wonder how many "bad" boards were actually just a corrupted connection that was "fixed" when the new connectios were made to the new board.
    X2 I fixed an intermittent issue with a fireplace piezo 2 days ago, after 4 other techs were there, by fully plugging the connector in!


    Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk 2

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    DFW Texas
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by millertime77 View Post
    ran into samething yesterday that through me off right in front of the customer. I make a call for heat and the HSI lights the burners for about 2 to 3 seconds then the gas valve drops out. So presume the flame sensor is dirty, but wanted to check its output, so I put my meter in series with the sensor and wire, which on this furnace goes directly to the board. The micro amp readingon my meter fluctuated from I believe it was .1 to .2, but the thing that was wierd to me was the burners stayed lit this time. So I hooked it back up with out the meter and gas valve drops out. I cleaned the flame sensor up real good, only because my company doesnt have any stocked on my truck or I would have replaced it, and works fine now. That is the way I was taught to check them, and didnt know exactly what my reading was suppossed to be but it seemed low and I was pretty sure the flame sensor was the issue.
    I had a similar experience with a Ruud unit. On the 80 percent units you might try reversing the polarity. This has worked for me twice now.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event