Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 35
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,038
    Quote Originally Posted by precision hvac View Post
    They don't need to be a HP York or Coleman specialist. They need to know how to read a friggin wiring diagram.
    Sad.
    I agree it is sad, you wouldn't believe how many "techs" call my company bc they can't figure out a York guard

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,074
    Yep, you need a tech that knows how to work on and wire up heat pumps.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    8
    Hey,

    Thanks for letting me know what the W1/66 does, interesting stuff. These are complicated little things aren't they?

    my indoor furnace is a DJ-40 Jos Perron unit, and my heat pump is a Coleman DRHS0301BD.

    Im looking at the manual of the heat pump online and could anyone confirm me what my tech said to me? Is it really a 2H/2C heat pump? http://www.master.ca/documents/0DRHS...Guide-1103.pdf

    Btw I'm not looking to do this myself, as I know it is against the forums policies. I am simply seeking information, so next time there is a tech here, I'll know if he knows what he's doing or not. Info is always good to have.

    Thanks again!

    A. LeBlanc

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    8
    Bump,

    Could anyone simply comfirm that my heat pump is a 2 stage heat and 2 stage cool for me?

    Would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks

    A. LeBlanc

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,944
    Quote Originally Posted by leblanc View Post
    Bump,

    Could anyone simply comfirm that my heat pump is a 2 stage heat and 2 stage cool for me?

    Would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks

    A. LeBlanc
    Without a model and serial number, we can't tell anything.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  6. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    8
    Here you go:

    Model No. DRHS0301BD
    Serial No. 99068946
    1 phase unit

    If you need any other info please ask.

    Thanks alot

    A. LeBlanc

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,038
    That unit is a single stage heat pump with a reciprocating compressor 12 seer. Your second stage heat is the electric strips in the air handler 2 heat/1 cool.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    8
    Are you kidding me? What the new tech told me was wrong? Oh god, that is just pathetic. Gosh I hate paying good money for nothing.

    My current thermostat doesnt have any variable speed to adjust it. Just G to turn fan on and off. Do I need a new thermostat to replace this? My blower fan has 3 speed, therefore 4 wires coming out of it. Would it be controlled separately with the relays and contactors inside the furnace or do I need a new thermostat that supports variable blower speeds?

    Thanks alot so far, very helpful.

    A. LeBlanc

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,914
    Where are you looking for techs at???

    How do you know you have a variable speed motor????

    Are you sure this isn't DIY? I would have been in and out of your house in 30 minutes.................

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    8
    I know the motor is variable speed because I've seen the motor the old tech installed it. (Bought an old home with bunch of problems at a low price)

    Yes I'm sure this isn't a DIY thread, as this kind of work isn't my sort of expertise.

    All I want to know at the moment is if I need a new thermostat that has variable speed integrated with it, or if the speeds are adjusted inside the furnace, meaning my thermostat is fine (Honeywell VisionPRO TH8320U up to 3 heat/2Cool).

    I am looking for techs inside the gatineau zone in Quebec Canada.

    I hope you could come here, last techs that came here were 2 here for about 2 1/2 hours. Would be alot cheaper hiring you for 1/2 an hour! lol

    Thanks again

    A. LeBlanc

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,914
    What makes you think it was variable speed......or a fixed motor with 3 speed taps????

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,914
    Quote Originally Posted by leblanc View Post
    I hope you could come here, last techs that came here were 2 here for about 2 1/2 hours. Would be alot cheaper hiring you for 1/2 an hour! lol

    Thanks again

    A. LeBlanc
    I don't think so Thats why I asked the question of where you were looking for techs....you must be lookin on craigslist....

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,944
    Quote Originally Posted by beshvac View Post
    Where are you looking for techs at???

    How do you know you have a variable speed motor????

    Are you sure this isn't DIY? I would have been in and out of your house in 30 minutes.................
    LOL! Maybe he yelled out to guys hanging around in front of the Home Depot (after buying a thermostat) if any of them were techs and they thought he said "Mexs".
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event