Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589

    2 challengers/boiler buddy

    Had an emergency change out. It's not finished and yes the gas tight looks like **** but I don't know what to tell ya.Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350681319.883666.jpg
Views: 568
Size:  42.9 KBName:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350681336.797916.jpg
Views: 594
Size:  47.6 KBName:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350681360.073918.jpg
Views: 573
Size:  43.4 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,253
    Have you used many Alpha pumps? How do you like them?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by SolarMike View Post
    Have you used many Alpha pumps? How do you like them?
    Those were my first alphas, there really cool, they are supposed to ramp down to nothing so you don't need a pump control. If they work like the should I think for the price they would be worth it. I haven't had a chance to really look into it but as far as I could tell they didn't shut off all the way.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,412
    they are nice pumps but, wont move a lot of GPM at higher head.

    i have read a lot of curve charts for various pumps. A lot of good info to read when you think you have the proper GPM for a boiler

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    thomaston, ct
    Posts
    302
    Nice work

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,412
    BTW, The job looks good.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    This is a temporary setup?

    The electric to you zone circulators is just draped all over. Steel to Copper connections.......is a no-no. Is that an expansion tank laying on the ground with tubing to the drain of the buffer tank? Air separator?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    It's not done yet, had 2 days to get it running for the weekend, also Waiting on the right size exp tank, I buttoned up the wiring after, also have a tekmar to install.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada Occupation:Interprovincial Plumber, Commercial Gasfitter Interests:
    Posts
    2,414
    Quote Originally Posted by ascj View Post
    This is a temporary setup?

    The electric to you zone circulators is just draped all over. Steel to Copper connections.......is a no-no. Is that an expansion tank laying on the ground with tubing to the drain of the buffer tank? Air separator?
    What's wrong with copper to steel? Spirotop on top of the boiler buddy.
    I love my job, but paydays Thursday

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Cu to steel is fine in hydronics, ya it comes with a spyro vent.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    I was not familiar with the Boiler Buddy.......but apparently a air vent on the top of the buffer tank is all that is needed. They incorporate air elimination into the buffer tank. As far as, copper to steel in a closed loop........it isn't black or white. So it's better to be safe than sorry.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by ascj View Post
    I was not familiar with the Boiler Buddy.......but apparently a air vent on the top of the buffer tank is all that is needed. They incorporate air elimination into the buffer tank. As far as, copper to steel in a closed loop........it isn't black or white. So it's better to be safe than sorry.
    It's mainly about electrolysis, a domestic water line is grounded and oxy rich. A boiler is neither. I helped a boiler maker change out the tubes in a 300 gallon water boiler, if a hole in the plate was to large a copper sleeve was inserted and the tubes were rolled tight against that. That is standard procedure and a state inspected job, after that day I changed my opinions.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poestenkill, NY
    Posts
    769
    Nice looking work!

    I don't see the point to a boiler buddy with a mod/con boiler but that's me. Seems like a really expensive way to decouple primary/secondary loops. Why not just do closely spaced tee's and a spirovent in one of the loops? Cast iron non-condensing non-modulating boiler is a different story, short cycling is much more of a concern ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event