Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 59
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,826
    Which is the best Ruud, Lennox about the same as asking which instrument mfg. is best. I say which ever one works best for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  2. #41
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    Which is the best Ruud, Lennox about the same as asking which instrument mfg. is best. I say which ever one works best for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    With tools their are clear winners and losers. With equipment its more about how its installed and then the quality of the equipmewnt... When your trusting you life to a tools that needs to give you important information like if voltage is present..... One of my tech recently bought a cheapo voltage meter that he thought was great. I pulled my meter out and read the voltage from a near by receptical. I read 121 VAC he takes the same reading and gets 3 VAC.... I just looked at him and told him to put it in the scrap pile!

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,826
    Quote Originally Posted by Nytefog View Post
    With tools their are clear winners and losers. With equipment its more about how its installed and then the quality of the equipment...
    I was really just talking about a stand alone piece of equipment as an example not the install, and remember any meter is only as good as the person using it.
    I don't think there are any winners or losers when your comparing Fieldpiece and Fluke, there both winners IMO.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    21
    It's all about personal preference, I like the Fieldpiece HS36.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4,970
    Have both fluke and fieldpiece, I have no problem with either brand depending on what I'm doing but honestly I usally grab the fieldpiece . I think its more of what your more comfortable with.

    I had a meter I bought some 35 years ago that had johnstone supply sticker on it. I have no idea what manufacture really made it but I used that thing a good 15 years and 1 day it disappeared ........... stolen by a customer but I could not prove it. Now it took me a couple years to get as comfortable with the replacement meter as I was with that Johnstone supply meter. The one big thing was that older meter didn't do half what the new meter would tho so I guess I was ahead that it was stolen so I would buy a new meter I could do a lot more then I knew I could do being I was using something out dated.

    First meter was the old Amprobe with battery in line of one of the probes . That was pretty trick for the time lol.

    You see this debate come up all the time but I guess it all depends on what your working on and what your willing to pay. I wont buy cheap meters but I'm not willing to not try other brands being they claim 1 is the only way to go. I am a lot more cautious now then I was starting out. Have seen to many electrocutions over the years and a couple were good friends. Don't let your guard down ....... or it will come back to bite ya

  6. #45
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by poleaxem View Post
    It's all about personal preference, I like the Fieldpiece HS36.
    I agree. I do my Fieldpieces manometer over my Testo 510's, but prefer my fluke DMM. i grew up using fluke products so i have been influenced. For some reason i find Fluke to be made for more professional use then Fieldpiece. Just my personal opinion and in no way am implying fieldpiece is poorly made. I do own some of their products.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Posts
    22
    Alcomech, nice attachments there. Thanks for posting them.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    20
    I've had my Sman3 over a year and clamps are fine. I did buy the black smaller one for refrigeration systems. I sometimes use my fluke clamp. Original batteries still. My first piece of Fieldpiece. Bought a FP anemometer and when my Flukes 52, 187, 334 need replaced they may become Fieldpiece also. I never bothered with FP because I didn't like the head adapter stuff. I rather like standalone dedicated tools. I like that FP actually understand our trade. Fluke doesn't quite get it.
    I've had Fluke meters the last 25 years.
    Last edited by spliskin; 12-14-2012 at 01:52 AM. Reason: clarity

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Athens, GA.
    Posts
    143
    Begin rant. I was pissed to find out my fluke 381 was made in china or some far off place. End rant

    3pt - sent this from his DUMB-PHONE

  10. #49
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by TriplePoint View Post
    Begin rant. I was pissed to find out my fluke 381 was made in china or some far off place. End rant

    3pt - sent this from his DUMB-PHONE
    The more expensive Fluke products are made in the USA. The US made products also have a lifetime warranty and the other do not. Got to be careful when you buy ANYTHING. Its a shame....

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Athens, GA.
    Posts
    143
    I paid 400 for it and the damn thing is imported. I have a 87v that cost over 3 bills and it is made here. I love the 381 though just disapointed with fluke. It seems that the products with the lifetime waranty are made here. :beer:

    3pt - sent this from his DUMB-PHONE

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    265
    You can't beat the quality of Fluke! Fieldpiece seems to be cheaply made, but it has more bells and whistles. When I'm working on 460v, I trust Fluke over Fieldpiece any day!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

  13. #52
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by phxhvac View Post
    ...When I'm working on 460v, I trust Fluke over Fieldpiece any day!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
    I concur!


    My 1586, 87V and 28II are made in the USA and i won't replace them for anything else. The only product of theirs i have that i know isn't made in the USA is 376... I have written Fluke and hope they give me a honest respones about products made in the USA. I requested a list of DMM and amp probes that are made in the USA and any other products made here.

    I will be very disappointed if they completely stop producing products in this country. I do trust their testing products over all others and don't think i will be able to convert with out a tremendous effort and proof provided by another manufacturer!

    I do wish Fluke had a DMM/Amp Probe that had all of the functions needed for HVAC work.

    I would accept products made in Germany. They have a excellent reputation and produce some of the finest automobiles out their. Even the Japs copy their designs!

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event