Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 24 of 24
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    I'm guessing that info would be located in Mfgr. Data... Or in Maual S calculations... Is that a correct assumption? All of that should be taken into consideration when equipment selection is made? I deal with mostly Trane split h.p's, so Comfortsite will come in handy if I am correct!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    In this case, the system did well all summer long... So, there are no complaints on performance. I am really just screwing around with the math

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    Also, according to manual D... This would be @ approx. .24 friction rate with 1150 fpm velocity. So, to bring the velocity into check (900), the duct should have been sized @ 9x17 @ .24 f.r.
    Once again, the system operates fine... A tad fast at the registers, but no complaints (it's a rental, and it just services a floor for my 4 year old) I'm really just trying to get into the nitty gritty.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,102
    That BTU rating on the equipment is for a 95°OD Db, and a 80° ID DB with a 67° WB. At lower outdoor temps you will get a greater capacity.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,591
    Quote Originally Posted by elevatedvagabond View Post
    I'm guessing that info would be located in Mfgr. Data... Or in Maual S calculations... Is that a correct assumption? All of that should be taken into consideration when equipment selection is made? I deal with mostly Trane split h.p's, so Comfortsite will come in handy if I am correct!
    Yes, the engineering/product data will give you the sensible and latent capabilities of matched pieces of equipment. Assuming the airflow is correct.

    Using that info and matching it to heat load calculation done on the home, will give you the best results.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    Ahhhhh... It's clicking!!! I totally lost sight of the design temp. Stuff.... Sometimes you cannot see the forest through the trees!

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    Thanks guys! I got it.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    I got to borrow my boss' Alnor Capture Hood. I measured each register independently. When I added them up I only tallied 680 cfm. If you remember from my earlier post, I was calculating 820 cfm via the heat rise method. I have yet to check the Fluke 922 against that calc. I am confused as to the possibility of lost cfm. I am not able to check the return cfm as it free drafts from the pedestal to a high 20x20 rafg. Is there an explanation of this? Or do I have a user error somewhere in my experiment?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by elevatedvagabond View Post
    I got to borrow my boss' Alnor Capture Hood. I measured each register independently. When I added them up I only tallied 680 cfm. If you remember from my earlier post, I was calculating 820 cfm via the heat rise method. I have yet to check the Fluke 922 against that calc. I am confused as to the possibility of lost cfm. I am not able to check the return cfm as it free drafts from the pedestal to a high 20x20 rafg. Is there an explanation of this? Or do I have a user error somewhere in my experiment?
    I'm no where near as educated as the others in this thread, but are your ducts sealed completely. My understanding is that you can a great deal of air flow if they are not.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    O.B.X
    Posts
    249
    Don't you know, I totally overlooked that! I'm 99% sure that is the cause! Thanks man. The contractor here half a$$ed everything else, I'm sure duct sealant was not high on his list

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,102
    Quote Originally Posted by Elfshadow View Post
    I'm no where near as educated as the others in this thread, but are your ducts sealed completely. My understanding is that you can a great deal of air flow if they are not.
    Yep, easy to have X CFM through a furnace or air handler, But only get 70 to 80% of that air through the registers.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event