Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 45
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, California
    Posts
    14

    Delfield freezer

    I have a Delfield freezer I'm working on.Its a 404A system.When I got to the call I found a tripped breaker.I reset the breaker and it started no problem.I proceeded to take my pressures and temps.I had a suction pressure of 15psig witch is ok.After about 15-20 minutes I can hear it pull down then shut off.It stays off for about five minutes then when it goes to start compressor hums and trips breaker.I thought I had a starting issue so I mF the caps.All in normal range.So I added a hard start and same thing happened.Everytime I set the breaker it starts fine,then does the same thing again.Any information to guide me in the wright direction would help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Is this a reach in freezer? You said it pumped down. Is it supposed too? Is there a LLS valve?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, California
    Posts
    14
    Yes it has LLS valve...it's a three door commercial freezer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, California
    Posts
    14
    I'm thinking it might be the valve cause after a short time the compressor (semi hermetic) starts with no problem.Then pulls down shuts off then when I goes to start hums a trips breaker.It also has a low pressure control on it.maybe valve not opening all the way?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Ok alittle clearer now. If your start components check good, caps and relay, and it's humming I'd say comp is dying most likely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,691
    What's the voltage at the compressor at start up? Does it drop when there's a load on it? If not, ohm out the pump. If it ohm's out ok, change the start components first before you condemn the pump.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    If your caps checked good I wood change the relay before condemning comp as well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    78
    What's the amp draw when it's running and when it tries to start?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    and whats the breaker size....
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    130
    had something similiar happen on a true freezer. Start components bad. Replaced with oem. Installed and everything was fine while I was there. The head of maintance had left before I could fill out my invoice. Went back the next day to get a sig and the freezer was out again.

    Found that voltage was fine without a load 119V. Underload 108V. Starting voltage 76V. Called true and was informed that starting voltage needs a be a minimum of 105V.

    It was a 50/50 shot. If she started it was good to go, but the minute it failed to start it would cycle on internal overload over and over again.

    If your voltage, start components, and amp draw prove to be good it may be something with the breaker. Poor connection? Weak breaker?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,691
    Exactly what I was saying.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,851
    It very well could be a low voltage issue.

    You said it starts and pumps down, sometimes. Are the pressures equalized, or nearly so, when the unit tries to start at cut-in temp? If you are starting under a high load, such as that caused by a lot of head, you may need to dig deeper.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, California
    Posts
    14
    I want to thank all of you for your time on your input.I have considered a voltage problem and also a chance of the comp trying to start on high head pressure.I have tried it on separate circuit and separate location a ll together.Same thing happening.Prussures are within range.Suction stands @ 15psig and head is 200psig 404 system.RLA is @ 11amps and its pulling LRA of 57...The comp is. Copelnd semi hermetic and the RLA is rated at 10.9...After the unit satisfies it pumps down and shuts off s usual.Then after 5 or so minutes it tries to cycle back on and pulls LRA and trips breaker.I changed all starting components but still does the same.This system does have a LLS and a low pressure control.Im now in the process of suspecting its the $600 control board.Will see what follows.I was suspecting comp failure but what's throwing me off is how after it trips the breaker in a minutes time if you reset the breaker (20A) the unit starts like nothing runs till it satisfies then does the same thing...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event