Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Methuen, MA
    Posts
    3

    Confused Existing A/C Piping For New R-410A Refrigerant

    I'm getting ready to have my condenser and coil replaced with a brand new system that uses R-410A refrigerant. One HVAC tech tells me that the existing pressure piping can continue to be utilized with the new refrigerant R-410A because the old R-22 can be simply blown out of the existing copper line. I'm seeing different opinions on-line HERE.


    Should I have all pressure lines replaced?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,845
    I don't see any different opinions in the article????

    If the lines can be replaced then replace them. It's not a requirement, other than blowing the existing lines out with nitrogen.
    Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish, he will eat for a lifetime.

    Give a man a capacitor, doesn't know what to do. Teach a man to install it, now he knows everything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Methuen, MA
    Posts
    3
    beshvc, This article (at the end) clearly states to replace this line...period. I'm simply attempting to get professional HVAC tech's to chime in with their opinions.
    Last edited by davevalley; 10-03-2012 at 12:17 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,845
    Quote Originally Posted by davevalley View Post
    beshvc, The article (at the end) clearly states to replace this line...period. I'm simply attempting to get professional HVAC tech's to chime in with their opinions.


    Sorry, read it again at the end, where does it clearly say that?
    Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish, he will eat for a lifetime.

    Give a man a capacitor, doesn't know what to do. Teach a man to install it, now he knows everything.

  5. #5
    buy a flush kit to flush the oil and blow with nitro youwill be fine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Methuen, MA
    Posts
    3
    I'm sorry...I inserted wrong article. The article I'm referring to is HERE.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,845
    Quote Originally Posted by davevalley View Post
    I'm sorry...I inserted wrong article. The article I'm referring to is HERE.
    That's just an article someone writes to get their search engine rankings up....it's not peer reviewed, in a professional journal or have any references with manufacturer's instructions.

    If you can change it without tearing up walls-change it. If you can't change it- flush with nitrogen.
    Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish, he will eat for a lifetime.

    Give a man a capacitor, doesn't know what to do. Teach a man to install it, now he knows everything.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    6,465
    Quote Originally Posted by beshvac View Post
    That's just an article someone writes to get their search engine rankings up....it's not peer reviewed, in a professional journal or have any references with manufacturer's instructions.

    If you can change it without tearing up walls-change it. If you can't change it- flush with nitrogen.
    X2, I would not use any ac flush solvent just plain nitrogen purge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,709
    Quote Originally Posted by jtrammel View Post
    X2, I would not use any ac flush solvent just plain nitrogen purge
    X3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event