Adding wires for Tstat
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    11

    Adding wires for Tstat

    At the moment, I have 2 NEST thermostats. A 5 wire Tstat wire was installed at both Tstat locations. We realized that the NEST wanted a common to properly charge so a Venstar add a wire was used to provide the common. We also have a dual stage cooling unit (Goodman). How do we get one more wire to the Tstat? Is is possible to use 2 Add a Wire units to get a 5 wire to 7 wire?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,410
    If you are a "pro" then get your post count up and join the pro section. You can ask tech questions there. Otherwise, this is not a DIY site. Sorry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,695
    Quote Originally Posted by wahoo View Post
    If you are a "pro" then get your post count up and join the pro section. You can ask tech questions there. Otherwise, this is not a DIY site. Sorry
    Switch to Ecobee, then you only need 4 wires from stat to interface module, which lives at your ahu.
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%
    ENERGY EFFICIENCY - leaving your thermostat where everyone is comfortable. Saving 30-70%

    DO THE NUMBERS! Step on a HOMESCALE.
    What is comfort? Well, it AIN'T just TEMPERATURE!

    Energy Obese? An audit is the next step - go to BPI.org, or RESNET, and find an auditor near you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,588
    2 Nest thermostats. Do you have 2 units?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,271
    I thought the Nest stats did not do multi-stage heating or cooling, but just today saw an article about the next gen Nest that does. It's a sweet looking thermostat but strikes me as a little overpriced, when competing stats, while perhaps not as sexy, do almost everything a Nest can do, but cost less.
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.
    • HVAC pyschrometrics is what makes indoor human comfort happen...IF the ducts AND the building envelope cooperate.


    A building is NOT beautiful unless it is also comfortable.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Torrington CT
    Posts
    82
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 10-02-2012 at 09:11 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,131
    +1, i didn't think the nest stats were compatible with anything but the most basic systems. Any other thermostat in the Nest price range can easily handle a 2 stage unit.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,314
    matt787

    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,588
    Quote Originally Posted by Shophound View Post
    I thought the Nest stats did not do multi-stage heating or cooling, but just today saw an article about the next gen Nest that does. It's a sweet looking thermostat but strikes me as a little overpriced, when competing stats, while perhaps not as sexy, do almost everything a Nest can do, but cost less.
    If they add a few more abilities to the Nest, they'll have an Edsel.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,695
    lmao

    (thanks)
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%
    ENERGY EFFICIENCY - leaving your thermostat where everyone is comfortable. Saving 30-70%

    DO THE NUMBERS! Step on a HOMESCALE.
    What is comfort? Well, it AIN'T just TEMPERATURE!

    Energy Obese? An audit is the next step - go to BPI.org, or RESNET, and find an auditor near you.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,271
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    If they add a few more abilities to the Nest, they'll have an Edsel.
    Well, at least it does not look like a horse collar!
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.
    • HVAC pyschrometrics is what makes indoor human comfort happen...IF the ducts AND the building envelope cooperate.


    A building is NOT beautiful unless it is also comfortable.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,031
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    If they add a few more abilities to the Nest, they'll have an Edsel.
    That's awesome!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Assuming you have a 2nd generation Nest thermostat, that is capable of 2 stage cooling and up to 3 stages of heating, they make Add-a-Wire units that add more than one wire.

    Until I looked it up today, I didn't realize the 2nd generation Nest was out yet.

    It still doesn't have the capability to run both humidification and dehumidification, there is only one terminal for it, so you have to pick the one you want, and it can't do ventilation control.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event