Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 39
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    58

    Replacement compressor wont run.. :(

    So I get the call over the weekend to check out a Luxaire R22 system 2.5 ton. Model TCGD30S21S1A with recip compressor.
    I get there and the compressor was grounded so waited for today to replace under an almost expired warranty, 2 more months & it would have been no warranty..
    Anyway, I check out the nameplate 3.11 lbs factory charge of r22, after installing it I leak tested with nitro and no leaks, pull vacuum and all good, I add 3.14lbs r22 and let it rip... The thing ran great... for about 40 minutes..
    It turns out I completely forgot (yes yes, my fault ok?) to change the drier... so I figured np, Ill pull the charge to the compressor and pull another vacuum and thats it right..? not really..
    I tried to pull vacuum and the dang compressor didn't suck in the charge, instead it shut down on me and remained like that for about thirty minutes.. All cables hooked up correctly, 24v coming through and 240v enabled, fan was running but comp wasn't.
    I had to run to another call and could not come back to this today but I am going back tomorrow..
    Could this just be that the compressor overheated and needed longer to cool down run again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,920
    Quote Originally Posted by myhvacx View Post
    .....

    It turns out I completely forgot (yes yes, my fault ok?) to change the drier... so I figured np, Ill pull the charge to the compressor and pull another vacuum and thats it right..? not really..
    I tried to pull vacuum and the dang compressor didn't suck in the charge, instead it shut down on me and remained like that for about thirty minutes....
    I am lost there. "Not understand a word that came out of your mouth "

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by myhvacx View Post
    I tried to pull vacuum and the dang compressor didn't suck in the charge, instead it shut down on me and remained like that for about thirty minutes..
    What does this mean? Are you trying to say that you tried to pump down the unit with it's own compressor, by closing a valve on the liquid line? If so, did you have a gauge on your discharge line to ensure that you weren't overfilling your condenser?

    This doesn't have anything to do with it, but is the filter drier before or after the liquid line shut off valve?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    2,535
    I think those TCGD, whether R22 or the R410a models incorporate micro-channel technology and your not suppose to suck down a system like you would conventionally with the micro-channels, even if it is the factory charge only. I hope you didn't mechanically lock up the compressor with multiple attempts to try to have it smash 15 pounds of salami into a 2 pound bag. I guess a bit of ohm testing at the compressor terminals would let you know if it was out on thermal or if it is locked up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by myhvacx View Post
    so I figured np, Ill pull the charge to the compressor and pull another vacuum and thats it right..?
    I think I just figured it out. I think by "pull the charge to the compressor", you really meant "pump the charge into the condenser". I hope that's what you meant, anyways.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by slctech View Post
    I think those TCGD, whether R22 or the R410a models incorporate micro-channel technology and your not suppose to suck down a system like you would conventionally with the micro-channels, even if it is the factory charge only.
    Oh crap..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,698
    Quote Originally Posted by myhvacx View Post
    Oh crap..
    I'm not try to rub it in, but slctech is correct.

    There is a service bulletin out from York that says this.........

    THE PUMP DOWN OF REFRIGERANT INTO A MICROCHANNEL UNIT IS NOT APPROVED UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE.

    This practice can result in damage to the compressor or condenser coil.

    The TCGD is a microchannel unit.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Savannah, Ga/H.H. Island, S.C.
    Posts
    1,528
    That condenser does have a microchannel coil. York does not approved pumping down a microchannel system.

    http://www.fldist.com/applications/D...ems%20York.pdf

    Hopefully the compressor is just out thermal overload and hasn't received any damage.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    478
    just curious if you cannot pump back into microchannel coil.....do they all come dryship? how does the mfg put charge into unit?


    Please, Please Please......keep the Factory Smoke in the Wires!!!!!


    Is it Rum'Oclock yet???

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by BigBacardi View Post
    just curious if you cannot pump back into microchannel coil.....do they all come dryship? how does the mfg put charge into unit?
    Good Point..

    by the way, Im the OP, the compressor was just out on thermal but.... This thread sure as hell helped me learn more about this microchannel business.. thanks guys..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    Quote Originally Posted by BigBacardi View Post
    just curious if you cannot pump back into microchannel coil.....do they all come dryship? how does the mfg put charge into unit?
    The 22 systems come dry. 410 come charged. Ive yet to see a factory charge stamped on a dry charge, York microchannel unit but 3.14 pounds sounds about right so maybe some do.

    I know they say not to pump them down but it is possible to pump down as much as the cond will hold. Almost every microchannel ive installed has had to have a considerable amount of refrigerant added. They dont want you attempting to pump them down because they know reefer has been added and that additional reefer will never fit into the condenser. They also know some guys will stand there with the contactor pushed in waiting on it to pump down when the cond is obviously already stacked full

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    But Id never attempt to pump one down

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    Also curious how you were gonna change the filter drier by pumping it down anyway. All that ive seen have internal driers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event