Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    769

    Tridium/XL10 VAV controller Questions

    My company is working into doing some Tridium AX controls. Today a customer of ours wanted us to navigate around the system and do some various changes.

    The first thing he wanted us to do was to bring the VAV box actual CFM flow to each graphic. We ended up doing it to one, and it did the change on all of them. Which for this situation was a good thing, but I was wondering how to make graphical changes only to the VAV box your editing. I also couldn't find any tools to create new graphical devices. Where are all of the tools to create new graphical status points, and text points?

    Another thing we were trying to do was install DA sensors on AI2 as per the wiring diagram on the XL10 controllers. We went into the VAV configuration, and configured it for AI2 = DA Sensor. We committed the configuration. We tried to discover the right NVO. The only one that even looked close to what we needed was a NVO that reassembled the Raw AI2 IO. The fact that is was raw I believe made the values show up wrong. The DA sensor is a 20 k sensor at 77 degrees. What do we need to do to allow this NVO to read the actual temperature correctly for these XL10 controllers? We tried to do some sort of conversion formula with no sucess. The temperature sensor shows like 23450 in it's default state.

    Is there a actual DA Sensor NVO on the XL10? We saw something about CntrlDataG_DATemp. I don't know what this means, but this point didn't appear to be valid.

    Any help on these issues will be much appreciated... We are scheduled to take the next AX training class when it comes back to town.

    Thanks A lot.
    J. King

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    236
    I use the kitpx to create most bound point graphics. If you use the numeric/boolean/enumerated images,depending on point type, then pick the graphic you want to display when the point is at the specified state.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by mechmike2 View Post
    I use the kitpx to create most bound point graphics. If you use the numeric/boolean/enumerated images,depending on point type, then pick the graphic you want to display when the point is at the specified state.
    Where is this kitpx located on workbench? Any ideas on trying to bring a 20k sensor into tridium from the XL10 AI2?
    J. King

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    SE Pennsylvania
    Posts
    898
    Proxy Ext nvoData/siDischargeTempS7

    How did you add the point to the graphics? I am assuming they used one graphic for all the VAVs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac69 View Post
    Proxy Ext nvoData/siDischargeTempS7

    How did you add the point to the graphics? I am assuming they used one graphic for all the VAVs.
    The weird thing is that Proxy EXT NVOData/siDischargeTempS7 is showing invalid figures. It shows like 23359. Do we have to do some sort of conversion formula to bring it down to true 20k at 77 degree values? They did use one graphic for all of the VAVs. The one point we did add we just went into the editor on the top center of the screen and made a duplicate and rebound the links. It ended up changing all of the graphics which was okay on that particular point, but once we do discharge air. We would like to only do it to certain ones.. I don't know how to change just one of the graphics...
    J. King

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    236
    Do the VAVs have reheat on them?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    SE Pennsylvania
    Posts
    898
    The only way that I know how to make graphic changes for a specific controller if it was originally done using relativized ords and/or a common graphic would be to name the point differently in the controller you want. You could even just duplicate the original point leaving the original and using the one you duplicated in case someone later wants to add it to all or they are using it for some other purpose that you may not be aware of. Make a new graphic point using your modified name and use hide on degrade. This way any controllers that do not have that exact named point the graphic point will be hidden.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    236
    Kitpx is located in your palette.Click on side bars icon and chose palette, if first time click folder and fin what you want to open.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by mechmike2 View Post
    Do the VAVs have reheat on them?
    The VAVs that we want to add the DA sensors to do have H.W. Reheat. If I hook up to the controller directly with Lonspec it shows a valid temperature reading, but when I look at the NVO listed above and the NVO RawAI2 it shows a really high number.
    J. King

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac69 View Post
    The only way that I know how to make graphic changes for a specific controller if it was originally done using relativized ords and/or a common graphic would be to name the point differently in the controller you want. You could even just duplicate the original point leaving the original and using the one you duplicated in case someone later wants to add it to all or they are using it for some other purpose that you may not be aware of. Make a new graphic point using your modified name and use hide on degrade. This way any controllers that do not have that exact named point the graphic point will be hidden.
    That makes a lot of sense.. Thanks alot!
    J. King

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    SE Pennsylvania
    Posts
    898
    Under the device properties do you have a Xml file listed? I am using that exact point for over 80 controllers on a old 3.1.29 job and no conversion was needed.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac69 View Post
    Under the device properties do you have a Xml file listed? I am using that exact point for over 80 controllers on a old 3.1.29 job and no conversion was needed.
    That is something I will need to look at. So does that point reference the value on AI2 on the controller? Is there a certain Xml file I should be looking for? If it isn't there where can I get it at? Would I have a problem if the controller isn't configured for a DA sensor on AI2.. I know I went into that particular XL10 configuration wizard and changed AI2 to DA sensor. I clicked on commit to send the configuration to the controller. Is that all I have to do to the controller itself?

    Thanks!
    J. King

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    SE Pennsylvania
    Posts
    898
    I have never used the AX Wizards, I have always used Lon Spec for configuration changes. The site I am referencing does not use the wizard and devices were added as dynamic devices. If you are using the Wizards then your Xml file should be fine. lonhoneywellAXWizards/Vav2101801.lnml. I think commit is the same as Save and that is it and does not download the config, but as I said I have never used the Wizards.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event