Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 28

Thread: Raspberry Pi

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    444
    Post Likes
    This is a very interesting and promising development. Figures that it would come along just as I'm figuring out this stuff the hard way on my own.

    http://us4.campaign-archive1.com/?u=...3&e=f465caffc5

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    10
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by noskilltech View Post
    This is a very interesting and promising development. Figures that it would come along just as I'm figuring out this stuff the hard way on my own.

    http://us4.campaign-archive1.com/?u=...3&e=f465caffc5
    Really Cool! I couldn't resist investing in one of their developer kits.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Issaquah WA
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Anyone using a Pi to interface with HVAC heating equipment especially heat pump. Looking at a new system for the house. I would like one that I could connect a PI to and run diagnostic monitoring live. Hooking the PI to the computer interface right on the heater to get info directly via the PI running scripts to turn the debug data into graph-able statistics would be my goal. I would like to compare compressor pump run time vs outdoor temp and maybe refrigerant pressure and be able to alarm on low pressure. My current system burned out because the refrigerate ran out and I would love to monitor that. So any system with a tech computer connector would be awesome and make me check out that system.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,433
    Post Likes
    I highly doubt that you could find a north american made heatpump that would have that level of diagnostic/communication built in. Of course there are ones that have gateway option for basic information, like temp, setpoint, alarm, but It simply translates into extra cost for manufacturers for communication boards. But almost all will have an alarm relay, that you could monitor with with rpi gpio.

    Your original system should have safeties in place such as low pressure cutoff to prevent a burnout, you need to ask the manufacturer why these safeties did not function.

    good luck

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    170
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by eastsidebuzz View Post
    Anyone using a Pi to interface with HVAC heating equipment especially heat pump. Looking at a new system for the house. I would like one that I could connect a PI to and run diagnostic monitoring live. Hooking the PI to the computer interface right on the heater to get info directly via the PI running scripts to turn the debug data into graph-able statistics would be my goal. I would like to compare compressor pump run time vs outdoor temp and maybe refrigerant pressure and be able to alarm on low pressure. My current system burned out because the refrigerate ran out and I would love to monitor that. So any system with a tech computer connector would be awesome and make me check out that system.
    Just buy an IP controller powerful enough. I just saw a customer putting an enable/disable on trends with his PID setting into his graphical user interface for the device. Open up the web page of the device and its there or run the graphic on the browser and you have it.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Issaquah WA
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    I am looking at the Trane XV18-20 and a tam8c. Seems pretty high tech. So I bet I can get some good data out of it. And could have the pi grab stats from the panel.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    170
    Post Likes
    Nah... likely not. It's resi junk. Likely you access some level of nothing. This means you get nothing. I see one manual states "3 wire communication". That's three words stating nearly 100% nothing.

    I meant toss the controls in a trash can and write your own logic on a controller.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    170
    Post Likes
    There is a J2 connector to the display that says Modbus. Maybe you can connect into that if Trane would give any information. Likely they will not.
    Then you can use a programmable device, small web server or touch panel and get some useful data.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Float'N Vally, MS
    Posts
    2,395
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by noskilltech View Post
    $35 is hard to argue with, especially if Niagara 4.0 offers portability. I have two Raspberry Pi's that I've been fiddling with for a few months now. One is running a full LAMP server on it that I'm running a fairly good sized mysql database off of and the other one I loaded up with the Bacnet for Linux from sourceforge. I have a breakout board with an xbee radio on that I'm still in the process of learning how to use the arduino boards with xbee to read inputs and control outputs for my home. None of it is pretty, but it's been fairly simple after countless hours of searching Google to learn how it all works.
    I have a month of R&R in December, plan on learning Arduono.
    Life is too short, Behappy!
    TFMM

  10. Likes RACLman liked this post
  11. #23
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    938
    Post Likes
    Is anyone aware of a project turning a Raspberry Pi into a BACnet/IP to MS/TP router? I have a developer on the line that says he can do it and has credentials that imply he can do it but if it's been done don't want to duplicate efforts.
    Scott Jalbert
    WebCTRL ninja
    AX and Smartstruxure newb

    The S in IoT stands for Security

  12. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,433
    Post Likes
    There is no real reason it could not be done, but I don't think there has been any massive commercial efforts to do it in a clean, consistent fashion. Most that I know of are DIY projects, with bunch of hacks and kludges that makes interesting at a project level, but may not be suitable for end user project implementation.

    Take a look at this:
    http://www.cbmsstudio.com/store/p10/...re_Bundle.html

    I have not used it, but seems to promise what you are looking for.

    Whatever you choose make sure it is implemented on an rpi3 platform, previous rpis have well documented sd corruption issues, and it is always best to power via a ups.

    good luck.

  13. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, AB Canada
    Posts
    681
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxBurn View Post
    Is anyone aware of a project turning a Raspberry Pi into a BACnet/IP to MS/TP router? I have a developer on the line that says he can do it and has credentials that imply he can do it but if it's been done don't want to duplicate efforts.
    Good day MaxBurn,

    Ensure that your developer has a good understanding of the MS/TP timing requirements and how he plans to ensure these requirements are met on the RasPi. Linux boxes are not well suited for hard real time applications given the nature of the operating system was designed. In these cases real time extensions to the kernel need to be used and/or secondary processors are implemented to meet real time application needs.

    Another element to consider is the hardware. In particular the Power supply (RasPi uses an external Wall wart that may or many not be suitable and/or robust for commercial applications) and the RS485 (for MS/TP, etc) interface... which must be added externally.

    With that said, the RasPi has lots of performance for an excellent price, but does have limitations if the plan is to deploy it in a commercial application and/or as a commercial product.

    Just a few items to consider. Best of luck on your project!

    Cheers,

    Sam

  14. #26
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    938
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by amigo View Post
    ~

    Take a look at this:
    http://www.cbmsstudio.com/store/p10/...re_Bundle.html

    I have not used it, but seems to promise what you are looking for.

    Whatever you choose make sure it is implemented on an rpi3 platform, previous rpis have well documented sd corruption issues, and it is always best to power via a ups.

    good luck.
    I found this and it's interesting but does not seem to be a router like I want, this is more of a protocol converter. I should probably ask them about the router issue.

    Good call on corruption, yes we plan on Pi3. Also interesting to note that even the Pi3 can have disk issues if it doesn't have enough power supply behind it, many of the Pi power supplies aren't actually enough for the Pi3 under load, even if they mention Pi3.


    Quote Originally Posted by s2sam View Post
    Good day MaxBurn,

    Ensure that your developer has a good understanding of the MS/TP timing requirements ~

    Cheers,

    Sam
    All very important. Lets just say the particular person I'm communicating for this project is well respected in the BACnet industry.
    Scott Jalbert
    WebCTRL ninja
    AX and Smartstruxure newb

    The S in IoT stands for Security

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech 365