Thread: New Career?

I was reading job discussions. I am currently attending a school for HVAC\R. I'm halfway through the course and have been trying to get a job in the field. No luck yet. I'm certified and trying to change careers. I've been a carpenter for 25 years and I'm burnt out. Starting to wonder if I have chosen the right field.

I know how you feel. 22 years working for GE in appliances and they shut the plant down and moved everything to South Korea. Went back to school and started all over. Coming up on 2 years in the new trade and still think about the old days. I am 46 years old and there are kids working with me that are the same age as my son. They still come to me for help. They don't have any confidence yet and me being older I talk them through the problems. I was doing refrigeration for 22 years in a plant, building all sorts of different fridges and the teachers kept telling me that had nothing to do with what I was there to learn. Somehow I pulled off a 95% average go figure. Keep at it every day is a learning experience the more you learn the better you get.

Originally posted by rws
    I was reading job discussions. I am currently attending a school for HVAC\R. I'm halfway through the course and have been trying to get a job in the field. No luck yet. I'm certified and trying to change careers. I've been a carpenter for 25 years and I'm burnt out. Starting to wonder if I have chosen the right field.
    I was a carpenter for 25yrs and burnt-out also. Went into residential maintenance and took HVACR online. Switched to commercial maintenance which pays more and has a larger variety of heat and air. My pay scale from switching over from carpentry to maintenance really never dropped and i'm getting my hands-on experience. Maybe later i'll try to get together with a Heat & Air Co.; but for now i'm gonna enjoy my "good" pay and limited "Hands-On".