Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 28

Thread: capacitors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,754

    capacitors

    Is there any way to determine what size capacitor a motor uses without any info but the from the motor itself?????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Hebderson Ky
    Posts
    55
    Call the local supply house or look on the data plate.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Hebderson Ky
    Posts
    55
    Data plate on the motor.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,754
    Indeed , but on compressors thay do not give this info and late at night with no way to tell i guess there is not a magical solution?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Hebderson Ky
    Posts
    55
    You are correct compressor do not. Not for sure where to find it on an after hours call.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    Smartphone knows

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,754
    Smartphone maybe the way to go then. At any rate A good guess got them thru.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Griffin, Georgia
    Posts
    564
    If it is on a Copeland compressor Copeland makes an electrical handbook for all of their motors and units. You can get one at most supply houses. I highly suggest it. I can't count how many times its been midnight on a Friday or Saturday and I go to the book and find out what relay or capacitor I need.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Hebderson Ky
    Posts
    55
    That's good to know. Have to get me one now.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by toocoolforschool View Post
    Is there any way to determine what size capacitor a motor uses without any info but the from the motor itself?????
    First measure the voltage between the two points from running capacitor. Then measure the amps to start winding. Then use the equation below mentioned
    2653*amps/volts
    Ex: 2652*6/347=46 micro farad

    Moideen-Dubai

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,784
    Quote Originally Posted by moideen View Post
    First measure the voltage between the two points from running capacitor. Then measure the amps to start winding. Then use the equation below mentioned
    2653*amps/volts
    Ex: 2652*6/347=46 micro farad

    Moideen-Dubai
    That will tell you what uF the working cap is. but won't tell you if its the right size cap. And if the cap is bad, and the label is not readable, you won't know what size cap to use.

    Copeland has a manual with the cap listed for each compressor they make.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,051
    Johnstone catalog is free and has lots of listings.

    Here is a Bristol guide I acquired.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    896
    Quote Originally Posted by SBKold View Post
    Johnstone catalog is free and has lots of listings.

    Here is a Bristol guide I acquired.

    Do .you have one for Copeland?

    Bristol is a dying breed
    Mostly Copeland

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event