Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Help Me Out Please

    I was recently checking out a 3-ton split system, after hooking up my gauges it appeared it was low on refrigerant(R-22). I had already inspected the air filter, a-coil and duct work to make sure I had good air-flow. The low side displayed 20 degrees(42psi) and the high side displayed 90 degrees(170psi) with an ambient temp of 80 degrees. I added 1 lb of R-22 and the system pressures did not respond at all, what is going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,989
    It's full of Nitrogen???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,928
    Jerry,

    First off, this isn't a DIY site, so, if you're a tech, you'll need to tell us a little about yourself.

    Filling out your profile page is a good start with that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    790
    Just add more 22, that always seems to work for me .

    Now to be serious, did you find the leak(s)?

    Do you have a charging chart?
    The opinions expressed by me are not that of my employer.


    insulation modern marvels
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g37riSkyZzM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,878
    Mabey the metering device is not working
    We really need change now

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    nampa idaho
    Posts
    66
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary or ask questions of the OP here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 09-26-2012 at 11:37 PM. Reason: Non Pro * Member

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,762
    Quote Originally Posted by hkempf View Post
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary or ask questions of the OP here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Only professional members with an * can post in the aop forums
    Last edited by beenthere; 09-26-2012 at 11:38 PM. Reason: Removed quote of Non Pro * Member

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,776
    hkempf, this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Your post has been deleted.
    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,245
    May not be an orifice in there. Or the TEV might be busted or out of whack. That would be my first guess going off of the miniscule amount of information we were given.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event