Thread: Help needed

I am a 2 year residential service tech and want to graduate to become a commercial apprentice. However all the commercial companies I talk to want me to become a parts runner first for at least a year, then if I have talent bump me into apprenticeship position. I have been studying the carrier service manuals for chillers and boilers that I have and all the info in my book: Modern refrigeration and air conditioning. However I have very little hands on experience on chillers or boilers. No public community colleges I know off teach or give classes in these subjects. So if I have to become a parts runner, how do I survive on $11/hr? How do I pay my rent? Is there an easier solution? Any way to become an apprentice without doing the **** work? Basically, how do I get hands experience without joining a company? Can I get hands on experience say at a community college that any of you guys know of? I prefer to stay away from private colleges, since I will end owing them $6,000 in the end, which unfortunately I can't afford at this moment. Any advice given is appreciated. Thanks.

Ian

Have you tried, Trane, York, Carrier, or McQuay?

All of these companies have service groups.

Sometimes you gotta go backwards to go forwards.
    He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask any questions is a fool forever.

sorry about that. it really does suck but most commercial companies are going to give you crap jobs for a while. maybe a little more residential to boost your knowledge and credibility. start where you are at right now and build a portfolio...jobs you have done, schooling, pictures, real head scratchers that you fixed right away, etc. make sure that you network as much as possible. go to wholesale lunches and find owners to talk with, go to industry meetings that affect the owners/managers and talk with them...show them that you are serious about commercial work. good luck!