Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,239

    Jace6 128MB memory

    I plan to have only a few controllers on a Jace6, and I also plan to have webUI and embedded workbench on it. Would I be fine with 128MB of RAM with embedded workbench loaded or do I need to get a memory upgrade to 256MB?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Helena, Montana
    Posts
    2,155
    Logs can use up a ton of memory....just food for though.
    Don't worry zombies are looking for brains, you're safe...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,239
    Understood, won't have too many logs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Helena, Montana
    Posts
    2,155
    My limited experience says the 128 would be plenty.
    Don't worry zombies are looking for brains, you're safe...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,239
    My main concern/question is what resources may be needed when you add embedded workbench and if that dictates a memory upgrade.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Helena, Montana
    Posts
    2,155
    I have several buildings that are running with a 6 and embedded. Most only have one or two air handlers and a couple of VAVs (6 to 12 total controllers). I haven't had any issues with memory. The only ones I have had memory issues with were JCI FX JACEs with their tools.

    I am surprised someone more experienced has responded to this one yet!
    Don't worry zombies are looking for brains, you're safe...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,475
    nope ... 128 will be fine.

    embedded work bench isnt very taxing at all.

    J6 would v easily handle about 50 MSTP devices. Would handle a ton of logging too as long as you dont go mental and log EVERYTHING. just temperatures and statuses and a few hundred records each...dont think it would be a prob.

    Digo (i think) commented somewhere in these forums about how much space logs take up ... you could find it with a search.

    JCI Fx ... is overloaded with unnecessary junk...they definitely run slower...still a JCI Fx6 should manage fine.
    We have one in particular that talks to about 100 BacnetIP devices and serves graphics without a prob.
    Last edited by MatrixTransform; 09-25-2012 at 05:28 PM. Reason: speeling
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,239
    OK, thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,332

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,239
    Thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event