Using a JCI VAV Controller as a UNT Controller.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    129

    Using a JCI VAV Controller as a UNT Controller.

    I was woundering if it was possible to use a JCI VAV Controller as a UNT Controller with a UNT program. All the I/O is the same and i tried opening the UNT program in HVAC-PRO and saving it as a VAV but it would not allow me to.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Several Miles from Sane
    Posts
    1,455

    Nope !

    As far as I know,

    "It Can't be Done". That is not the answer you wanted is it ?
    If sense were so common everyone would have it !

    All opinions expressed are my own. Any advice provided is based on personal experience, generally accepted fact or publicly available information. As such, it is worth exactly what you paid for it, not a penny more not a penny less !!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    26
    Haven't done this in a while,I think You need to save file as a UNT.Then change the .PRN file back to VAV.It's a pain.I have a file somewhere on the exact steps.Let you know when I find it.
    LU 449

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    129
    Bump

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    651
    I think - you can use a custom program which someone has develope to create your own programs. If you search this site, I believe it's someplace here.

    Good luck

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    26
    Steps to load UNT configuration into VAV controller.
    1. the UNT xxx.cfg file in Notepad. (xxx = filename)
    2. Change the following:
    a. Device Group: UNT to VAV
    b. Device Name: UNTxxx-x to VAVxxx-x (Example: UNT111-1 to VAV111-1)
    3. Save UNT xxx.cfg file.
    4. Open UNT xxx.cfg file in HVACPRO.
    5. Device Type now equals VAV VAVxxx-x (Example: VAV111-1)
    6. Download VAV controller
    7. Now Upload VAV controller.
    a. Device Type now equals UNT UNTxxx-x (Example: UNT111-1)
    8. Save this file.
    a. You can change any user defined I/O back to the user names and save.
    b. Use this file to connect in Commission mode.
    9. If you make any changes to the Questions and Answers or add Side Loop, you must do steps 1 thru 7 again.
    10. Open

  7. #7
    Hey dodger I have a question about hvac pro operation through aux access. The system used to work fine and now it just stop woriking. Modems connect but hvac pro never connects or shows any devices. Any suggestions?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event