Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4,005

    Thumbs down Fieldpiece Quality? NO

    I used to be a big fan of Fieldpiece. I was one of the guys who would defend them against the Flukeheads etc. But over the past few years I've had nothing but trouble with them. Three meters in about as many years. And the digital "knife" type thermometer lasts about six months if I'm lucky. I like the design but got tired of buying them so I saw that UEI makes a simiilar one for less money. It even has a magnetic back and an easier to read display. I just got it so I cant speak of it durability yet. but I'm fed up with Fieldpiece. I am very careful with my tools and always keep my meter in its case. My next meter will probably be a Fluke. Are you guys with Fluke meters satisfied with their quality?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    4,325
    I've had the same Fluke meters for 20 years now. Send them in ever few years for calibration. Cant speak for any of the new stuff.
    If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what will never be. (Thomas Jefferson 1816)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,675
    Yea I do like feildpeice but there is no excuse for meter leads to not stay connected to the meter. In other words any tension and the leads pull out of the meter. I bought a klein meter and the leads pull out of them too, what a joke, time for a fluke.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by toocoolforschool View Post
    Yea I do like feildpeice but there is no excuse for meter leads to not stay connected to the meter. In other words any tension and the leads pull out of the meter. I bought a klein meter and the leads pull out of them too, what a joke, time for a fluke.
    You will have the same issues with Fluke leads too. I hear tons of complaints about their leads.

    In my opinion, Fluke quality has really gone down the last few years. The people that still support Fluke are the guys with 10 year old meters, that were built much better. The current stuff is made in China, and not the Fluke you are used to. They have had many recalls since moving to China too.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,157
    I have three FP meters. The SC56, SRH3, and STA2. They get used a lot, especially the sc56 and no problems to date. I have thought about getting the knife style temp probe, but it sound like I maybe don't want to...

    I forgot about the SRH2, that thing took a beating for a couple years and never failed me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,936
    Quote Originally Posted by Fan Blade View Post
    You will have the same issues with Fluke leads too. I hear tons of complaints about their leads.
    Which ones? I got a set of sure grips from fluke and don't know what country they were made in but they haven't loosened up like my fieldpiece connections did. I looked down inside the connection and the fluke leads have more points of contact so makes sense to me why they are holding better in the same meter. So far they are the best leads I ever bought
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    831
    Quote Originally Posted by Fan Blade View Post
    You will have the same issues with Fluke leads too. I hear tons of complaints about their leads.

    In my opinion, Fluke quality has really gone down the last few years. The people that still support Fluke are the guys with 10 year old meters, that were built much better. The current stuff is made in China, and not the Fluke you are used to. They have had many recalls since moving to China too.
    The higher end Fluke models are made in the USA and carry a better warrany. The foreign made product are of lower quality, but its a nessicary for Fluke to compete with other companies offering products at lower cost. They need to stay competitive in this market. Some people need better quality products with high accuracy that are used daily and other just need meter for some home DIY project.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    3,317
    Quote Originally Posted by Nytefog View Post

    The higher end Fluke models are made in the USA and carry a better warrany. The foreign made product are of lower quality, but its a nessicary for Fluke to compete with other companies offering products at lower cost. They need to stay competitive in this market. Some people need better quality products with high accuracy that are used daily and other just need meter for some home DIY project.
    Must be their really high end stuff, because I can't find a country of origin marked on their remote display amp clamp... but the box is marked "Made in China".

    This is a $400 meter.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    3,317
    I think "competitive" is misleading.

    Companies choose offshore manufacturing to maintain profit margins, not to provide competitive pricing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,675
    good info tanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    831
    my fluke 28II is made in the USA. another example of the this type of outsourcing is a outerwear company named arc' teryx. they are located in Canada and made the finest technical outerwear. recently I bought another one of their jackets only to find made in China stamped on the tag. I promptly returned the jacket and contacted them. I had them send me a list of the items still made in hhouse and they all were the top end products. they had the same excuse as other companies which is lack of competitive advantage. thy did assure me that the Chinese made item were the same quality as in house items but I find that hard to believe.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    pittsburgh, pa
    Posts
    541
    Roughly 6 years ago, I bought the hvac combo kit.

    The temperature function in the 116 meter is useless, endened up buying a fluke 52 something (reads either a degree high or low I forget) for temperature measurements, otherwise, no problems that new batteries wouldn't correct.

    I am on my third 322 clamp on meter. First one didn't like being out in the rain for 3 days, second one didn't like falling off a reach in (works great if you squeeze it just right), I havent killed the third one yet.

    Overall, I have been satisified with my flukes.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by Nytefog View Post

    The higher end Fluke models are made in the USA and carry a better warrany. The foreign made product are of lower quality, but its a nessicary for Fluke to compete with other companies offering products at lower cost. They need to stay competitive in this market. Some people need better quality products with high accuracy that are used daily and other just need meter for some home DIY project.
    Only the high end DMM's above the $270 price point. Fluke no longer makes a SINGLE clamp meter in the USA, even their top of the line most expensive clamp. Every single clamp is either made in China or Taiwan. Same with all their voltage testers and tic tracers. Soon, it will probably all their DMM's too. Every new update they make on a meter, it moves overseas.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event