Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    this is my second post. i'm a student studying HVAC. currently we are working on compression cycle charting/calculations. i wondered if measuring subcooling could be used to help troubleshoot a system but was surprised when my instructor said no when i raised the issue in class. i can't help but want to challenge him because in the past, he has presented material that flew in the face of logic, or contradicted information from other sources (here included). is he right? if not, can members explain/describe situations where subcooling could be used as a method(s) for cycle troubleshooting? thanks in advance

matt

Yes it can be very helpful...

Example...

bdclark
    Professional Member

Had this bugging me for a while. Its not something I can go back and do anything about cause I no longer work for the company who services this customer. These numbers are old so Im not sure they are 100% accurate, but very close.

Called out on a "not cooling."
    LGA156HS1G

OA= 93* / DP= 215 SP= 48 / Suc. Temp. 72.5 / Sat.= 23 /
    SH=39.5 / Return=76 / Supply = 66/67 // Cant read own writing for air in/out of cond.

This is after 5 mins operation/ Then suction pressure drops to 20*, all other reading stay about the same.
    No kinked piping. Cleaned out TXV to make sure it wasnt sticking. Replaced LL drier. Suction pressure drops to 10, then slowly into a vacuum. I immediately opened the disconnect. Before I got much further was called off of roof to another job. What was going on? My first impression was that the TXV was bad.

10-04-2006 06:18 PM IP: Logged

mark beiser
    Professional Member

Subcooling?

http://www.rses.org

10-04-2006 06:31 PM IP: Logged

bdclark
    Professional Member

I know. I know. that would help but I cant read all my notes because the page got wet at one point, somewhere in time and its all smeared.