Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 25 of 25
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Silverspur View Post
    The dealer was here this morning. The dealer told me they checked on the TAM8 board revision and from what they could find, it is specific to certain TAM8 units, and mine is not one of them. So, at this point we have TAM8 main board that was replaced about three weeks ago with the original software module installed in it, new XL950 with Rev 2.1 installed in it.

    Evidently the TAM8 control boad has some type of removable memory card with the operating system on it and a replacement TAM8 board does not come with a new memory card/software, so the original has to be used.

    With the three week old TAM8 board and original software for the TAM8, the dealer put the new XL950 t-stat back, loaded version 2.1 software, and attempted to get the system to work. It bombed out big time - error 126 and now it is a non-operable error - the system will not run until the error is cleared; the system used to atleast run. The dealer tried reloading version 2.1 a couple times, reverting back to factory settings, powering the system up in specific squences, rebooting the XL950, and nothing works.

    An interesting thing is in the diagnostics section of the XL950, if the history page (I think that is it - it is on the same window as the alerts and stored alerts icons) is brought up, it shows the outdoor unit "online" and the indoor unit "ofline" indicating the T-stat can talk to the condensor but not the air handler.

    So, for grins, they tried to force the air handler to operate using the system test window. The air handler responded to both 50% and 100%, it also responded to stage 1 and stage 2 cooling test, even though it claims there is no communication and the air handler is offline! Curious, the XL950 and TAM8 cannot communicate, yet the XL950 can succesfully request the air handler to operate and the cooling to start in test mode...

    Anyway, they put the temporary T900 on so I at least have air conditiong, and are attempting to get the Trane rep in to look at it. They also want to see if there is new software for the TAM8 that should be installed.

    Any suggestions by those that may have seen this would be greatly appreciated. I am confident my Trane dealer will get this solved, but any other help I could relay to them to speed it up or get them looking at specific things on Trane's dealer website would be great.

    I spent a lot of money on this top of the line, state of the art system and it is not functioning as Trane specifies. I hate it when I am on the bleeding edge of technology - I try to avoid that and thought I had as I believed this system had been around for over a year when I bought it.

    I will post back when I hear more.
    When the 900 was installed did the 126 go away or do you still see it?

  2. #15
    second opinion,
    With the T900 installed, the error 126 is gone and does not show up again.

    The error is only there with the XL950 and makes the system "non-operable".

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Silverspur View Post
    second opinion,
    With the T900 installed, the error 126 is gone and does not show up again.

    The error is only there with the XL950 and makes the system "non-operable".
    Do you know how to enter the installer set up on the 950?

  4. #17
    Second opinion:
    yes, I have been into the installer setup in the XL950 many times as that is where I have found all the stored alerts and some history.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Silverspur View Post
    Second opinion:
    yes, I have been into the installer setup in the XL950 many times as that is where I have found all the stored alerts and some history.
    The 950 needs to be connected in order to check, but from what information that I have been told if only ISU 0710 is being reset to factory default without clearing 0706 the 126 will hold in memory. Unfortunately the technical information on the Comfort Link to is terrible to say the least.

  6. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by second opinion View Post
    The 950 needs to be connected in order to check, but from what information that I have been told if only ISU 0710 is being reset to factory default without clearing 0706 the 126 will hold in memory. Unfortunately the technical information on the Comfort Link to is terrible to say the least.
    Second opinion, thank you for your reply.

    One would think that if a factory reset is performed and a new software update, that all errors would be cleared. Plus, the XL950 was brand new when installed and software Ver 2.1 was installed. The XL950 had error 126 from the first time it powered up all the way through software update.

    Also, I do not know what 0710 or 0706 is or how to find them. From what I have seen, the XL950 shows three digit error codes and then one can select the error code and see what might be causing it. I do not ever recall any code of 0710 or 0706.

    i just got curious and looked at the manual for the TCONT900AC43UA (I have been calling it T900) thermostat that is temporarily replacing the XL950. In tabel 4: Installer Setup Menur code section I found a code 0706 for Reset Discovered Device. The "Comments" column says this will clear error 126 by re-initializing Auto Discovery.

    And, 0710 is Restore Factory Defaults, with the "Description" column stating the it resets all installer setup options to default values, and the "comments" column says only the claendar and time settings are retained.

    Looking through the T900 manual, it appears there is a large difference between it and the XL950 in how they function. The XL950 is all user friendly with plain english for setup and for errors, along with help in diagnosing an error. Very nicely done on Trane's part.

    I am not at all knowledgeable about the T900 or Trane products in general as I am just an equipement owner, but I have seen the XL950 go through discovery every time power is cycled on the TAM8. I would think that since the system is going through discovery, it is re-establishing the equipement table. But, this is not the issue as far as I can see. The issue at this time is the XL950 cannot establish proper communication with the TAM8, so if the error 126 could be cleared, it would just pop up again as there is no proper communication.

    i have also done a "restore" on the XL950 and all errors that were stored, along with all personal settings were gone after the restore. So I believe that all errors were cleared automatically, but I have no way of knowing for sure other than there was nothing stored in the dealer diagnostics section.

    This system is really baffling, especially with the lack of information available to even installers. I really hope my installer can get the Trane rep here to solve these problems. I really like the XL950, TAM8, and XL20i when they are working.

  7. #20
    Sorry my replies are a little long, but I want to make sure I get enough information out so all your questions might be answered, and possibly raise other questions.

  8. #21
    It has been a while since I last posted and I wanted to provide all with an update to my issues.

    The installer was finally able to get some information out of the local Trane field person and this is what has transpired.

    The second XL950 thermostat was reinstalled with V2 software and the entire system was (thermostat and air handler) powered down and then a factory reset was done on the air handler and the thermostat. Lo and behold all parts now communicate - no error 126!! yeah!! The system works again. We did have to reprogram everything in the thermostat and air handler, and lost all the history.

    Next, the thermostat was re-located to be directly, and I mean directly beneath the main air return. The reason for this is in the summer heat, the XL950 would show the room temperature to be in the mid 80's when the room was acutally in the mid 70's. This would cause the system to run and never shut down. Nothing would solve this - recalibartion cannot compensate for this big a difference, spacing the thermostat off the wall three inches did not help, nothing seemed to solve the problem, and it read incorrectly only in when the system was on and when it was very hot outside.

    The installer was informed by the Trane rep that there is a design issue with the XL950, and it is known by Trane that the thermostat will read erroneously by a substantial amount due to self heating. The electronics in the t-stat heat up and cause the ambient room temperature sensor to read high from the internal heating. I actually measured the back of the XL950 to be as much as 115 F with an infra-red thermostat. It is hot to the touch.

    Anyway, the Trane rep says Trane knows about this and says to mount the XL950 directly in the return airflow so the ambient room sensor has room air moving over it at a good volume. When the installer asked the Trane rep when a fix would be available for this, the rep suggested there would be no fix until the next model came out, and the home owner would have to purchase a new one.

    So, Trane has a design problem and I am stuck with an expensive thermostat that does not work properly, and Trane says I have to purchase a new one if and when they come out with a new model... Thank you Trane, nothing like customer service and standing behind your product. It only took about four months to get this information out of them by the installer.

    Well, at least I have a working system with the thermostat in a location that is not desireable for me, and I have some nice holes in my wall from the old location. I have since seen the Carrier version of this and think I might go with Carrier next time.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 12-30-2012 at 11:53 AM. Reason: non AOP member

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,400
    tkcc123
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,330
    Quote Originally Posted by Silverspur View Post
    Next, the thermostat was re-located to be directly, and I mean directly beneath the main air return. The reason for this is in the summer heat, the XL950 would show the room temperature to be in the mid 80's when the room was acutally in the mid 70's. This would cause the system to run and never shut down. Nothing would solve this - recalibartion cannot compensate for this big a difference, spacing the thermostat off the wall three inches did not help, nothing seemed to solve the problem, and it read incorrectly only in when the system was on and when it was very hot outside.

    The installer was informed by the Trane rep that there is a design issue with the XL950, and it is known by Trane that the thermostat will read erroneously by a substantial amount due to self heating. The electronics in the t-stat heat up and cause the ambient room temperature sensor to read high from the internal heating. I actually measured the back of the XL950 to be as much as 115 F with an infra-red thermostat. It is hot to the touch.

    Anyway, the Trane rep says Trane knows about this and says to mount the XL950 directly in the return airflow so the ambient room sensor has room air moving over it at a good volume. When the installer asked the Trane rep when a fix would be available for this, the rep suggested there would be no fix until the next model came out, and the home owner would have to purchase a new one.

    So, Trane has a design problem and I am stuck with an expensive thermostat that does not work properly, and Trane says I have to purchase a new one if and when they come out with a new model... Thank you Trane, nothing like customer service and standing behind your product. It only took about four months to get this information out of them by the installer.

    .
    The fix for your problem is to mount a remote sensor directly below the 9500. This will now give you accurate temp reading at the stat. I'm suprised the FSR is not aware of this fix.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  12. #25
    jimj, when a remote sensor was added way back at the begining of this, I lost humidy control. When the sensor was removed, they had to do a factory reset on the XL950 as it would not "forget" that the remote was no longer connected and the system errored and would not work.

    Still, even if humidity control did work, adding a remote sensor seems to me to be a band aid, not a fix. I am an engineer, and at companies I have worked for, this would be totally unacceptable for more than a temporary fix. The XL950 has a design problem as does the TAM air handler, Trane knows of these issues and will not fix them properly and replace what I paid a lot of money for.

    I have used Trane products for about 20 years purchasing at least four units over the years for various buildings, but after this experience with poor Trane support and known design issues that Trane will not fix, I think I am about finished with Trane and will try a different brand next time.

    I like the ideas Trane attempted to implement, but do not like the way they did the implementation and their lack of respect for the customer essentially saying your bought it, now it is your problem and if you want it fixed, you have to buy the next revision.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event