Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,862

    Confused Jace 403 Serial to Ethernet Convertor

    Don't feel like making one and could have used one yesterday, anyone have one they can recommend premade for serial shell access from somewhere like B&B or such?

    TIA
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Hampton Roads, Virginia
    Posts
    1,593
    I made my own, but I believe this is the one you need,

    http://www.cablesandkits.com/cisco-d...8301-p-30.html

    Kevin
    "Profit is not the legitimate purpose of business. The legitimate purpose of business is to provide a product or service that people need and do it so well that it's profitable."

    James Rouse

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,862
    Quote Originally Posted by klrogers View Post
    I made my own, but I believe this is the one you need,

    http://www.cablesandkits.com/cisco-d...8301-p-30.html

    Kevin
    Thanks Kevin, ended up picking up 4 new ones off of Ebay for 12 bucks
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,322
    Kevin is right, the cisco null modem cable works. That's the light blue satin that comes with older style cisco routers.

    A JACE and a PC are both DTE devices, and thus require a null modem adapter.

    The pinout between the JACE and the cisco cable is slighly different (DTR/RTS and CTS/DSR swapped), but it does work . As per Dan Anderson @ Tridium, the JACE does not care about the inbound handshake lines on a serial integration. See the difference in pinout below:

    JACE 4/5/XPR series
    null modem cable (Tridium part # 10148)
    RJ-45 /DB9
    1 DTR /6 DSR
    2 RTS /8 CTS
    3 TXD /2 RXD
    4 GND /5 GND
    5 GND /1 DCD
    6 RXD /3 TXD
    7 CTS /7 RTS
    8 DSR /4 DTR

    Cisco null modem (Cisco part # 72-3383-01 or CAB-CONSOLE)
    RJ-45 /DB9
    1 RTS /8 CTS (request to send/clear to send)
    2 DTR /6 DSR (data terminal ready/ data set ready)
    3 TXD /2 RXD (transmit/receive)
    4 GND /5 GND
    5 GND /1 DCD
    6 RXD /3 TXD (receive/transmit)
    7 DSR /4 DTR (data set ready/ data terminal ready)
    8 CTS /7 RTS (clear to send/request to send

    This is as cheap as I've been able to find them:
    http://www.routerswholesale.com/inde...&products_id=6

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,862
    Quote Originally Posted by digo View Post
    Kevin is right, the cisco null modem cable works. That's the light blue satin that comes with older style cisco routers.

    A JACE and a PC are both DTE devices, and thus require a null modem adapter.

    The pinout between the JACE and the cisco cable is slighly different (DTR/RTS and CTS/DSR swapped), but it does work . As per Dan Anderson @ Tridium, the JACE does not care about the inbound handshake lines on a serial integration. See the difference in pinout below:

    JACE 4/5/XPR series
    null modem cable (Tridium part # 10148)
    RJ-45 /DB9
    1 DTR /6 DSR
    2 RTS /8 CTS
    3 TXD /2 RXD
    4 GND /5 GND
    5 GND /1 DCD
    6 RXD /3 TXD
    7 CTS /7 RTS
    8 DSR /4 DTR

    Cisco null modem (Cisco part # 72-3383-01 or CAB-CONSOLE)
    RJ-45 /DB9
    1 RTS /8 CTS (request to send/clear to send)
    2 DTR /6 DSR (data terminal ready/ data set ready)
    3 TXD /2 RXD (transmit/receive)
    4 GND /5 GND
    5 GND /1 DCD
    6 RXD /3 TXD (receive/transmit)
    7 DSR /4 DTR (data set ready/ data terminal ready)
    8 CTS /7 RTS (clear to send/request to send

    This is as cheap as I've been able to find them:
    http://www.routerswholesale.com/inde...&products_id=6
    Thanks for the pinout digo, now all I need is to find some Echelon 70110 cables
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,322
    Quote Originally Posted by joey791 View Post
    Thanks for the pinout digo, now all I need is to find some Echelon 70110 cables
    Do you mean 70010?
    16AWG, 1 conductor, stranded?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,862
    Sorry meant the 75110, got one ordered yesterday-Honeywell badged one
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event