Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 63
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    2,339
    Post Likes

    Testo-557 micron measurement are way off

    Bought the 557 2 weeks ago, put it to the test and the microns readings are way lower than actual, it was reading between 500 to 0 microns when the actual pressure was over 1000 microns, I going to compare the pressures and temperatures readings next.
    Attached Images Attached Images     

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,180
    Post Likes
    There are a bunch of videos on YouTube about their separate micron gauge having issues also.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    2,339
    Post Likes
    its my first Testo tool and I'm thinking about returning it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    3,180
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by valdelocc View Post
    its my first Testo tool and I'm thinking about returning it.
    I have the 550 and I use it for 22 and it has worked well. I bought it on that group buy a few years back. I have the ak900 also. If you get that spend the extra and get the clamps.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

    The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

    Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    3,002
    Post Likes
    to be honest my 557 is only 3-4 months old, i gave up on the micron gauge and now use a new fieldpiece stand alone, or a old robin air. But my clamps are right on. after reading some input from here, for vac i will probably not use a manifold anymore, as i already have 3/8" yj hoses and a tee to use, have not tried yet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    2,502
    Post Likes
    I use the 550 gauges for my daily calls. I've really enjoyed them.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Life is like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your ass tomorrow.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    18
    Post Likes
    The 557's suck it's a waste of money testo won't step up and fix the problem there are 4 techs including me that have 557's that the micron gauge does not work on we all paid twice as much for a 4 valve 550

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,642
    Post Likes
    I have the 570's and the micron gauge is way off from the bluvac. That being said the Sman4's are fairly close to the bluvac ONLY if the valve cores are removed. In all honesty I can't remember if I tried the 570's with the valve cores or not. I do know for a fact that the Testo 552 isn't as quick to respond as the bluvac or the Sman 4. Hope this helps.

    Quote Originally Posted by cbowling79 View Post
    The 557's suck it's a waste of money testo won't step up and fix the problem there are 4 techs including me that have 557's that the micron gauge does not work on we all paid twice as much for a 4 valve 550

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    331
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by valdelocc View Post
    Bought the 557 2 weeks ago, put it to the test and the microns readings are way lower than actual, it was reading between 500 to 0 microns when the actual pressure was over 1000 microns, I going to compare the pressures and temperatures readings next.
    THe 557 has a resolution of 500 microns. It wont be as accurate as a stand alone micron gauge.
    Also after having eduated my self on Testo products from input recieved here and else where, it is not recommended that you EVEN use the on board micron gauge.
    And being so new Testo would back them up.
    Just curious but did you read the manual?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    50
    Post Likes
    I have the testo 557 guages also and the micron reading is way off. had a system that pulled down to 500 microns and my guage was reading 17000. tried to zero the guages a couple times. no change. i just got mine back in february.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    3,824
    Post Likes
    Why are you still using manifold gauges to pull a vacuum? WHY? All the manufactures need to get together and make VERY light 3 port gauges that are wireless. I'm sick of lugging around a set of massive gauges with hoses everywhere. When that happens I'll buy a set. My 3 port DC's work just fine.

    When pulling a vacuum with the gauges (manifold 4 port) what do you have? twenty connections? All places to leak!!!
    Always here

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    331
    Post Likes
    When pulling a vacuum with the gauges (manifold 4 port) what do you have? twenty connections? All places to leak!!![/QUOTE]

    Nothing bad or unprofessional about using your manifold for dyhydration of a system.
    There are enough manifolds made by YJ that are rated to 50 microns. And YJ is so confident in them they will rebuild them for free if they ever leak for as long as you own them.
    I mounted one of my DCs to such a manifold.
    THEU ARE CALLED BRUTE II MAN - FOLDS.

    I HAVE THE COMMERCIAL SERVICE 4 poRT SET.. THE HostE CODNECTIONS R 3/8 IN.. THE EVACUAT10N PORT IS 1/2 IN•

    SENT FROM MY RETARDED LOASY SPE[ LING PHONE.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    50
    Post Likes
    I have never had hoses leak unless the gasket was bad which I change regularly, or I didnt tighten the connection.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech 365