Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 40 to 50 of 50
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    5,997
    Quote Originally Posted by Sterling9 View Post
    All
    I want to reiterate that what I need is documented literature stating what the allowable static pressure is for my system. I am just a homeowner that hired someone to fix a system that was installed incorrectly or is malfunctioning.
    One of the symptoms is an excessive static pressure message.
    I could try pointing him to this thread if he tries to tell me anything below 1 is OK but I don't think it would get me very far.

    What would you do if you had a customer that refused to pay you because some people on a HVAC forum disagreed with your work? I'd imagine you'd want something more substantial than that.

    I'm getting the feeling that there isn't anything out there or it would have been offered up by now.

    It's just a little surprising to me that is so difficult to find the documentation.
    This is NOT your unit, but Page 29 is close to the type of documentation that you need.
    However, with a variable speed unit you can Not derive a true blower performance curve from the data presented.

    1" is MAX. is all that it really provides in the data.

    http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc.../50xt-05pd.pdf
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    5,670
    Quote Originally Posted by jtrammel View Post
    Anything highlighted is above recommended static
    http://www.manualslib.com/manual/197...page=13#manual

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    5,670
    I don't think their is any literature that states what you want, but any hvac tech should know that 1" is too much static. Maybe call carrier tech service and see what they say?

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    20
    Designer Dan
    Thanks, that is similar to what I have for my unit with the same range.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by jtrammel View Post
    I don't think their is any literature that states what you want, but any hvac tech should know that 1" is too much static. Maybe call carrier tech service and see what they say?
    I tried calling carrier. They told me to hire another contractor to get a second opinion. This is my second contractor. Additionally, I live in a rural area and there are not many Carrier dealers that are willing to travel to me.
    Thanks for the York chart. My installation manual has one similar to it without the the shading in the area .6-1.0 range. I guess I'll just wait until the current contractor declares it fixed and deal with it then. With any luck he'll get the static pressure down and I won't have to worry about it (I'd be surprised).

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    5,670
    It siunds like it will take some major duct revisions to get it down to where I would like to see it

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,635
    If high stage is the problem, avoiding it might be a work around until you either completely replace your duct work or install a pump that matches your duct work.

    Try this - don't use setback in heating mode. You might get the pump to carry the house to much lower temperatures. It'll kick to propane for recovery. It takes a lot of horsepower to recover, and not so much to maintain.

    Might try leaving it alone for cooling also. Recovery will kick the pump to high.
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%
    ENERGY EFFICIENCY - leaving your thermostat where everyone is comfortable. Saving 30-70%

    DO THE NUMBERS! Step on a HOMESCALE.
    What is comfort? Well, it AIN'T just TEMPERATURE!

    Energy Obese? An audit is the next step - go to BPI.org, or RESNET, and find an auditor near you.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    I didn't reread the whole thread, but rather than replacing ducts, you might have good luch putting in better quality commerical grade registers and increasin the register size as well. Then maybe just add another return soemwhere. Small changes can make a big difference.

    I think you can set the Infinity control to lockout high stage altogether. You cna also set it to "comfort" and minimum air flows if you haven't already.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,635
    Moto, here's something to get your head around...

    Had a chat yesterday with a guy in Nevada. He started talking about how they design. He's designing systems to run at 600 cfm/ton!

    Also, these systems are running at about .2 static.

    Their orientation is the don't want any energy going to latent removal. Still kinda sinking in for me, I expect you'll have some thoughts on this.

    SO, locking out high, yes, but set to efficiency rather than comfort.
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%
    ENERGY EFFICIENCY - leaving your thermostat where everyone is comfortable. Saving 30-70%

    DO THE NUMBERS! Step on a HOMESCALE.
    What is comfort? Well, it AIN'T just TEMPERATURE!

    Energy Obese? An audit is the next step - go to BPI.org, or RESNET, and find an auditor near you.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    20
    I've locked out the furnace until 32 degrees and that is a reasonable workaround for the time being. It prevents the unit from switching to propane unless it is really necessary, and the unit will run at high stage during colder temperatures. I don't mind replacing/increasing the ducts (and registers - thanks for the suggestion) to address the problem. That was my assumption of what was necessary when I hired the second contractor, and that is what he proposed to fix the problems. However, it wouldn't be in scope of what he proposed to replace the whole unit. Like I said earlier, at some point he is going to declare the ductwork adequate and that he is done. When I put him under contract I stated that I expect the unit to be operating within Carrier guidelines when he is finished. I suspect the static pressure reading will be higher than what most people on this forum would like to see. I believe I am on firm ground that anything above 1” is unacceptable, and I would also need some margin for a dirty filter (how much?). Beyond that, I haven’t found anything stating that the pressure would be higher than Carrier guidelines.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,635
    That is a contract I'd like to see. Can you share it, or at least the exact wording around "operating within Carrier guidelines"?

    My mother has the same pump.

    She called on a cold night asking if the cool air coming out of the registers indicated a problem. She went on to say the house was maintaining 70f.

    I instantly knew what had happened, and now use the strategy whenever possible to learn true load/capacity crossover. The installer inadvertently locked out the furnace.

    2300 sf home, 3 ton infinity hybrid, heats without a problem to 7f. Probably would go to sub zero before backsliding.

    Not sure if this causes lightbulbs to go off, it did for me.
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%
    ENERGY EFFICIENCY - leaving your thermostat where everyone is comfortable. Saving 30-70%

    DO THE NUMBERS! Step on a HOMESCALE.
    What is comfort? Well, it AIN'T just TEMPERATURE!

    Energy Obese? An audit is the next step - go to BPI.org, or RESNET, and find an auditor near you.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event