Page 1 of 9 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 115
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    186

    Digicool super sensor failure

    I got my AK900 about a month ago, and have been using the upgraded sensors. I love the way it has been working, but today my sensors have been acting up.

    The highside temp sensor is reading same as low side sensor.

    The stock red and blue sensors work, so I don't think there is a problem with the head unit. If I could get some insight of why this would occur, I might be able to locate the problem.

    I spent the extra Leg for these sensors, so I could avoid this issue. Gahhhhh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,942
    Did you make a phone call to digicool or did you come here first? Im sure they will have a solution that you will be happy with!
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    186
    I was hoping to find and fix the problem tonight. Got a busy day to come tomorrow

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,942
    So one of the thermistors is reading off? I dont own that set of pipe sensors but is there any signs the wire was pulled from one of the thermistor? If you jiggle the wire when they are connected does the reading change? I dont think you would be able to repair them if its not a wire breaking.. Im curious to see what others have to say.
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    186
    I am reading about 8 k ohms on the low side sensor, open on high side sensor. Also reading open on solder joints going into plug. That tells me the problem is either in the sheathing, or the most likely culprit, at the thermister.

    Not very happy, but atleast its not at the head unit, and I have an extra set of sensors.

    I'm going to build the coolest and baddest set around. Has anyone confirmed the coopers have the same value?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,942
    yes I use the standard coopers. No major modification needed.. Just soldering the mojo plug.
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    186
    She is sending me new ones. I'm still going to make a super set of coops. Maybe 5-6 layers of heat shrink? I want a set I can rope a compressor with lol.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Seems you guys who use Diggi Queens post more problems with the temp sensors than any other digital on the market.

    My SMAN 3 and Testo 557 and 570 are going strong.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,942
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    Seems you guys who use Diggi Queens post more problems with the temp sensors than any other digital on the market.

    My SMAN 3 and Testo 557 and 570 are going strong.
    I knew it was only a matter of time until you showed up. There was no way you were going to miss this opportunity to get a word in...
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,129
    Maybe he missed all the testo and Fieldpiece failures while he was bant and those were just the "Clowns" who felt like sharing them here.
    What was the latest one you needed to blow the sockets out with BONE DRY CO2
    I still believe there is hope for Clover. He loves his new BluVac and just needs a Digi-Cool now to complete his zombification LOL
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    Maybe he missed all the testo and Fieldpiece failures while he was bant and those were just the "Clowns" who felt like sharing them here.
    What was the latest one you needed to blow the sockets out with BONE DRY CO2
    I still believe there is hope for Clover. He loves his new BluVac and just needs a Digi-Cool now to complete his zombification LOL
    No Digi Queen for me. Doug convinced me of that.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    BTW, you making fun of my Bone Dry Co2 usage?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,129
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    BTW, you making fun of my Bone Dry Co2 usage?
    Nope Wish I had some and the small tank you have.
    You could use co2 for leak detection too.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

Page 1 of 9 12345678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event